R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 12-02-2005, 04:09 PM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Arrow Custom A-Arms for MP777...YOUR input is wanted!

Attention all MP777 drivers...

I'm considering designing some custom MP777 front a-arms, and I would appreciate your input on the design. I'm looking for your input on where the arm might need strengthening, more shock mounting points, etc.

To give you a bit of background on this design effort, I'm an engineering student looking for a design project in which I will optimize the design of an existing part. That's the goal, anyhow...whether or not I end up with a "optimized" part is yet to be seen... For a variety of reasons, I have chosen the MP777 front a-arms as a likely candidate for the design project. At this point, the purpose of this project is to gain some design and manufacturing experience, not to mass-produce an aftermarket option part. If it goes well and I end up with a great part, I might be able to produce a few extra sets, but that's about as far as production will likely get. Again, it's more for learning and experience.

Please post any opinions you have on the stock a-arms and what you might like to see in a "new and improved" arm. I know Kyosho already makes top-notch stuff, MP777 a-arms included, but maybe you guys see some room for improvement. Thanks in advance for your input!
SeattleRCer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2005, 04:53 PM   #2
Tech Regular

Sounds like a good idea.

I was cleaning my 777 the other day and I noticed that the right front A-arm had a crack or split,where it is reinforced.

Thats what the farm 2 at Lances can cause.The 40 min A-Main probably caysed that.
Sofast-NT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2005, 05:03 PM   #3
Tech Addict

Thanks for the response, Sofast-NT! Could you post a pic of your cracked arm?

Anyone else have some input??
Old 12-04-2005, 08:34 AM   #4
Tech Regular

I will try.