Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Brushless sc10 low power >

Brushless sc10 low power

Brushless sc10 low power

Old 02-29-2016, 06:27 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default Brushless sc10 low power

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to electric rc trucks. So I have a pretty much brand new associated sc10 brushless lipo combo that's been a blast so far especially since I went from a 2s to a 3s battery. So yesterday I shorted the t-plugs from the battery to the esc and freaked out because I thought I fried it, Plug it in and it runs like a champ. I probably drove it for 10 minutes tops no problems,then topped the battery off for today.so I get home today and drive it for like 2 minutes and then it just loses like 90% of its power. Motor still turns but it's not powerful at all. Help me please!
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2016, 08:46 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: MOBILE AL
Posts: 168
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

if its like the lipo combo i got with the compact charger that comes with it. try recharging your battery on 1 amp
Mordred is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 04:40 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by Mordred View Post
if its like the lipo combo i got with the compact charger that comes with it. try recharging your battery on 1 amp

I bought an imax charger
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 05:03 AM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

It's like the motor lost all of its torque. I can hold the truck in the air and the wheels spin but if I put it on the ground it just revs up..? I tried two different batteries that didn't work. I can easily hold the gears and give it full throttle, the only thing it does is make noise

Last edited by Bowser91; 03-01-2016 at 05:38 AM.
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Rebel76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sheboygan Falls WI
Posts: 275
Default

If you can hold the gears and give it throttle you most likely stripped the idler gear in the transmission. It is one of the weak points in that truck. I wouldn't recommend running 3s in a stock AE vehicle.
Rebel76 is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 11:50 AM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by Rebel76 View Post
If you can hold the gears and give it throttle you most likely stripped the idler gear in the transmission. It is one of the weak points in that truck. I wouldn't recommend running 3s in a stock AE vehicle.
lol but the 3s is so much fun . I can hold the spur gear I mean. The pinion gear doesn't do anything but the motor still sounds like it's turing
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2016, 09:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

After some research and disassembly of the motor it turns out the magnet let loose on the rotor.
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 09:33 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (267)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 4,409
Trader Rating: 267 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bowser91 View Post
After some research and disassembly of the motor it turns out the magnet let loose on the rotor.
Easy fix...time for new rotor.
Andy Koback is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 04:26 PM
  #9  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Easy fix...time for new rotor.
Where can I purchase new rotors?
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 04:47 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (267)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 4,409
Trader Rating: 267 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bowser91 View Post
Where can I purchase new rotors?
What brand/kind of motor is it?
Andy Koback is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 05:15 PM
  #11  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
What brand/kind of motor is it?
Reedy #916 3300kv.
Bowser91 is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 06:22 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (267)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 4,409
Trader Rating: 267 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bowser91 View Post
Reedy #916 3300kv.
Should be able to check thru A-Main, Stormer, Superior hobbies or any hobby shop that sells motor/parts. Must be a mod motor?
Andy Koback is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 06:34 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (267)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 4,409
Trader Rating: 267 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bowser91 View Post
Reedy #916 3300kv.
Would it look like this one?

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXBVZB&P=PU
Andy Koback is offline  
Old 03-02-2016, 07:14 PM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 10
Default

Originally Posted by Andy Koback View Post
Would it look like this one?
That's it. At least it looks exactly like it. Could you guys recommend a solid Quailty motor in the $100 or less price range if I decide to change anything in the future?
Bowser91 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.