R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-17-2005, 09:02 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
"Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 340
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Lightbulb Electric motor break in

Just wondering everyones various techniques for breaking in new motors and why they use the technique that they do. I have heard of soooo many different ways to do it so trying to get some insight on the best way to do it and a reason why thats the best way. Let me have it guys!
__________________
Brendan a.k.a. "Spanky"
TEAM LOSI 22SCT ..... 22T 2.0 ..... 22 2.0
Orion----Promatch Racing----Spektrum---Proline---Island Raceway
"Gone But Not Forgotten" --- RC10T, RC10T3, RCTc4, XRay007, XXT, XXTcrGraphitePlus, XXXT, XXXTMF, XXXTMF2----
"Spanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2005, 09:57 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Connect a 3.0v pack (2cell) directly to the motor for 3 minutes. I think this is the most common way of breaking in a motor.
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:19 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i have had this problem where i can't get my charger to spin my motor after putting new brushes and cutting the comm. So here is what I do:

chuck the motor in a dremel and run it at low speed for 1 minute

then

I run 3.0 volts (via chrger) for 2 minutes.

either way, these 2 methods (mine and duratrax) are the easiest and best.
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:20 AM   #4
Registered User
 
losirunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: If it aint broke, fix it till it is....
Posts: 1,593
Send a message via AIM to losirunner Send a message via MSN to losirunner Send a message via Yahoo to losirunner
Default

also, if u have a charger that can power motors/comm lathes, u can do it like that at anywhere from .1 to like, 7.2 volts...
losirunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 10:22 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
AssocRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greenfield, WI
Posts: 2,295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AssocRacer Send a message via Yahoo to AssocRacer
Default

I do pretty much the same thing, cept i use the motor break in option on my Ice charger, put a few drops of comm drops on it and run it for like 3-5 min, and i do that every time i cut the comm and replace the brushes on any of my motors.
__________________
Lots O' Planes
AssocRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 11:27 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
DFroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Inver Grove Heights, Mn
Posts: 926
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

After cutting the com I run them at 3 volts for 5 minutes, check wear pattern on the brushes. New motor run them 3 volts 10 minutes, check pattern on the brushes, cut the comm if needed, clean and reassemble. Good Luck!!
__________________
Don Froyd
Froyd Motorsports
www.pamperedchef.biz/andreaskitchen
Racing For Fun!!!
Past TcORC VP
DFroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 02:36 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DFroyd
After cutting the com I run them at 3 volts for 5 minutes, check wear pattern on the brushes. New motor run them 3 volts 10 minutes, check pattern on the brushes, cut the comm if needed, clean and reassemble. Good Luck!!
I've never heard of anyone cutting the comm after break-in. Isn't that going a little too far?
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 02:18 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
DFroyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Inver Grove Heights, Mn
Posts: 926
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Team Duratrax
I've never heard of anyone cutting the comm after break-in. Isn't that going a little too far?
I've done that on a few motors after reading it in "Big Jim's RC Motor Book". Without access to a dyno or motor monitor I don't know how much of a gain there is. Most of the time I just disassemble and inspect after break in. I just figured that the author of the book and his sources know a heck of a lot more about these motors than I do so I have taken a very light cut after break in depending on how the comm looks.
__________________
Don Froyd
Froyd Motorsports
www.pamperedchef.biz/andreaskitchen
Racing For Fun!!!
Past TcORC VP
DFroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 03:00 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

This is all my personal opinion...motor care is one of those things where you could get 100 different opinions from 100 different racers.

I don't believe in comm drops, brush drops, comm sticks, any of that nonsense. Bearing/bushing lube, and motor spray, are the only things that touch my motors.

Running your motor with a dremel will do nothing but glaze the comm and brushes, and you'll need to service them again. The motor needs to be running on its own. If the motor won't spin, it's because the brushes are hung up in the hoods; pull on the brush shunt and let them snap into place and it should work.

You need to run the motor out of the package before you cut it for the first time..out of the box, the comm material hasn't hardened yet and you'll just be wasting your time. You can run it for a couple battery packs, or let it run on the charger for 5-10 minutes (let it cool down as you go) and then cut it, put brushes on it, do what you wanna do.

I never really break my brushes in after I cut the comm. Just a minute or so to make sure the motor runs and the brushes won't hang up on the track, and run it. When i was running a lot of stock, using 4499 and 4505 brushes I wouldn't run the motor for any more than 15-30 seconds on the bench because I felt the motor made more power when the brushes had fresh serrations.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 08:36 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Doughty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Waldron
This is all my personal opinion...motor care is one of those things where you could get 100 different opinions from 100 different racers.

I don't believe in comm drops, brush drops, comm sticks, any of that nonsense. Bearing/bushing lube, and motor spray, are the only things that touch my motors.

Running your motor with a dremel will do nothing but glaze the comm and brushes, and you'll need to service them again. The motor needs to be running on its own. If the motor won't spin, it's because the brushes are hung up in the hoods; pull on the brush shunt and let them snap into place and it should work.

You need to run the motor out of the package before you cut it for the first time..out of the box, the comm material hasn't hardened yet and you'll just be wasting your time. You can run it for a couple battery packs, or let it run on the charger for 5-10 minutes (let it cool down as you go) and then cut it, put brushes on it, do what you wanna do.

I never really break my brushes in after I cut the comm. Just a minute or so to make sure the motor runs and the brushes won't hang up on the track, and run it. When i was running a lot of stock, using 4499 and 4505 brushes I wouldn't run the motor for any more than 15-30 seconds on the bench because I felt the motor made more power when the brushes had fresh serrations.
I agree and do pretty much the same as Aaron.

if you are going to re-use your brushes, keep them well away from motor cleaner if you are going to blast your end-bell, it dries out the brushes and they loose performance.
__________________
Chris Doughty - Team Durango - LRP - BETA Tires - Nibbo Design
Doughty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 09:45 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
AssocRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Greenfield, WI
Posts: 2,295
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AssocRacer Send a message via Yahoo to AssocRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doughty
I agree and do pretty much the same as Aaron.

if you are going to re-use your brushes, keep them well away from motor cleaner if you are going to blast your end-bell, it dries out the brushes and they loose performance.
that i did not know, i usually clean them off with motor cleaner, i'll try and not get them with the motor cleaner and see what that does. I usually take my motors apart after every race and clean them with motor cleaner, then put them back together. I'll cut the come after every two weeks of racing usually (so usually i'll rebuild once the motor has about six runs on it), but i use a different motor for practice then i do for racing.
__________________
Lots O' Planes
AssocRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 11:11 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

When you cut the comm, use a header card to clean out the slots in the comm. Ballpoint pens and x-acto knives can tweak and mess up your perfectly trued comm.

Clean as much of the crud out of your motor as you can with a soft-bristled brush. The less stuff you try to flush through your bearings (or imbed into your bushings..haha) the better off you'll be.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2005, 07:48 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
"Spanky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 340
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What is a header card???
__________________
Brendan a.k.a. "Spanky"
TEAM LOSI 22SCT ..... 22T 2.0 ..... 22 2.0
Orion----Promatch Racing----Spektrum---Proline---Island Raceway
"Gone But Not Forgotten" --- RC10T, RC10T3, RCTc4, XRay007, XXT, XXTcrGraphitePlus, XXXT, XXXTMF, XXXTMF2----
"Spanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric motor break in reddishdsb Electric Off-Road 26 09-01-2008 09:18 PM
Cheap Ways to Break In Electric Motors? Chris__RC Electric Off-Road 17 08-17-2008 07:18 PM
need electric motor break-in help. streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 7 02-17-2007 02:15 PM
new electric motor break-in Ry Dude Rookie Zone 5 01-28-2006 11:06 PM
electric motor break-in? midnightrc Australian Racing 3 01-01-2004 09:18 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:41 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net