Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
No power to the esc? >

No power to the esc?

No power to the esc?

Reply

Old 02-01-2016, 07:26 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
Questions?? No power to the esc?

Any answers to this issues ?????
1/8 scale Mugen buggy I was at a race this weekend and my car was running perfect through two heats then I drove it back to my tent to knock the dirt off the tires when I stopped it and squeezed the throttle again I got nothing at all no sterring or movement at all.
I check all connections nothing loose or broke that I could find.
Im using a Tekin Gen 2

Any ideas out that I know esc's go out but maybe im missing something on assessing the problem.
tripleccc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:08 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
two shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Rockies
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

If you have a multi-meter, check the power input at the exposed ESC wires. This will determine if the ESC is seeing any voltage. I have seen cold solder joints fail like this after running fine for a while. IDK if the Tekin G2 has a user replaceable fuse or fuse link.
two shoes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
two shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Rockies
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Make sure only the ESC is plugged into the receiver in case the servo has gone wonky. Keep in mind that the ON/OFF switch can go bad as well. For that, you would need to either cut the switch and solder the wires together, but then you'll likely get a little spark with plugging the battery in, might also void any warranty you may have...
two shoes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:38 AM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
Default

the swith I have hard wired so I guess ill try the other tactic you mention
tripleccc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:40 AM
  #5  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 40
Default

I don't think there is a fuse location
tripleccc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:50 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (232)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,587
Trader Rating: 232 (100%+)
Default

I have Tekin ESCs and I don't have to bind the switch wires together. That will shut it off. Cut them and leave them that way. Check the 3 wires going from ESC into receiver slot. I've had the black one break inside the plug and had no power also.
Andy Koback is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 04:01 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (16)
 
two shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Rockies
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

tripleccc, did you get it fixed? If so, detail what you found, if not, what is happening now.
two shoes is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service