R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 12-24-2015, 07:05 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Need help identifying vintage CAT diff

Greetings,
I'm in the process of restoring an old Schumacher CAT XLS and I'm missing the whole rear end (diff, shocks wishbones etc). I found a diff case on eBay but I'm unsure as to which model the diff case belongs to.
I've attached some links to the pics
http://i1168.photobucket.com/albums/r491/grunger73/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpse3pf4jqt.jpeg
http://i1168.photobucket.com/albums/r491/grunger73/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsgr9kctjn.jpeg
http://i1168.photobucket.com/albums/r491/grunger73/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpspme2biub.jpeg
Any help is greatly appreciated
grunger73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 01:07 AM   #2
Tech Regular

It does look similar but I'm no expert on the older Schumacher cars. If you get no luck here it may be worth trying the vintage section on oOple.
Badger5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 02:43 AM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

this may help,if you have not already seen it
and going over your pics looks like you were right on regarding model.
http://www.oople.com/rc/manuals/xls/
I)arkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2015, 10:30 AM   #4
Tech Rookie

Thanks for the info guys.
I bought it not knowing if it's the right one because these parts have become so hard to find. Figured I'd take a chance. The Cat swb, xl and XLS are so very similar that it's hard to tell if it's the correct one even after looking at the manual.
Merry Christmas
Old 12-26-2015, 03:19 PM   #5
Tech Rookie

That indeed looks to be an XLS transmission. The layshaft or topshaft is an MMS one piece hop-up part. The top deck looks XL, the chassis some sort of saddle pack aftermarket XLS. The bumper definitely is XLS.

Edit: ... and your lower front arms are on the wrong way around.
Mattias is offline   Reply With Quote