Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Wanting to get into Racing >

Wanting to get into Racing

Wanting to get into Racing

Old 11-17-2015, 05:23 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Wanting to get into Racing

hello everyone first time here. Just wondering if anyone would be able to give me some suggestions. I am looking into purchasing the B5M factory lite to start racing at my local track. I am new to the rc hobby and have been doing my research. I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on a good electronic package for this kit. I am just starting out so I do not need top of the line but I would like dependable equipment. The track has 13.5 and mod for 2wd buggy. Any tips or suggestions would be great. I am eager to learn and get more into the Rc hobby. Thanks for the help in advance.
Old 11-18-2015, 07:17 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

get a hobbywing justock/xtreme stock esc for 50......then for a rookie driving any 13.5 motor will do.... ....
Old 11-18-2015, 07:36 AM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Can't go wrong with hobbywing esc for the money...LRP 13.5 is a great inexpensive motor at around 60 bucks..Savox 1258 servo is very good for the money..b5m is a fun buggy but practice practice practice and it becomes a great fun buggy ☺
Old 11-18-2015, 07:46 AM
mes
Tech Master

+1
Don't save on your radio gear. You can keep a good servo and transmitter for many years. Either a Futaba T4PLS or an Airttronics MT4 should be a good starting point. As for servos, I have been a big fan of Futaba's BLS-451 and recently purchased its successor, the BLS-471. If you want to go cheap and get a Savx, just make sure you don't buy their low-profile stuff, the rest might be ok I guess.
Old 11-18-2015, 10:38 AM
Tech Rookie

I started out a couple months ago in a similar fashion with the following:

B5M Lite, Airtronics MT4, Trinity D4 1S 17.5, Hobbywing StockSpec v3.1, Protek 100ss servo, Trinity Ti 4500mah shorty, Duratrax Onyx 235 charger.