Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Beginner questions - Arrma Mega - Good buy? >

Beginner questions - Arrma Mega - Good buy?

Beginner questions - Arrma Mega - Good buy?

Old 07-23-2015, 09:33 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Beginner questions - Arrma Mega - Good buy?

Background:
I have no experience with hobby level RC car.
( Short story long. i wanted a hobby RC Buggy when i was a kid. But my folks didn't want to spend the $$$. Only had a 12.99 Walmart crap that I drove inside the house.)

Anyhow, here is what i am looking:
  • Father and sons fun activity/project - (9yr +6 yr boys)
  • Easy for my 9 yr to drive (my 6 yr is not very mature. Don't expect him to drive yet)
  • inexpensive for hobby level RC grade
  • Easy for me to set up and maintain

I have been checking out the Arrma Mega line.
  1. They seem to be great entry level RTR
  2. great price for 159 (buggy) to 189 (Short Course)
  3. Great site (i know this is silly but i just enjoy browsing their site and rewatching the Mega line promo video)

SO the Arrma Mega line just went on sale on TowerHobbies - www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0091p?&P=SM&C=CAI&V=ARA

I can get the Arrma Mega Granite for $135= $150 discount price - $15 coupon - No tax - Free shipping.

I really want to pull the trigger. Here are my questions:
  1. Is this a good buy? Let me hear your comments
  2. Is the mega line good? (not some super cheap trap that get me in. And i will be spending $$ keep it running) . I see tons of great reviews. Then lots of posts about breaking/replacing every parts within few weeks. What???? (is this expected for inexpensive RC??)
  3. Specifically it seems to get good online review for beginner start up. But is this brand reliablity ( i know about this brand is not popular in local hobby shops. Parts will be an issue. Need to go online for parts)