Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekno RC SCT410.3 Thread >

Tekno RC SCT410.3 Thread

Like Tree173Likes

Tekno RC SCT410.3 Thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old 10-10-2017, 01:54 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Tekno RC SCT410.3 Thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: DirkW
Welcome to the SCT410.3 Wiki!

7.26.17 - BB
In order to run the recommended team setup, you need the following optional parts:
TKR6106 Orange LF Springs
TKR6114 Green LF Springs
TKR6018 composite shock caps (built to emulsion) OR TKR8702 Aluminum Emulsion Shock caps
TKR8027 Shock Stand Offs
TKR6051 8x1.3 pistons(drilled to 1.4mm)
TKR8104 .4 bellcranks
TKR8100 .4 ackerman
TKR5545B HRC Hubs
You also need the Aluminum C Block (others can stay composite)

What option parts should I consider buying with a new kit?
None are required but we recommend the following:

TKR5161 V2 Adjustable Hinge Pin Brace A block, 7075 CNC, EB/NB/ET/NT/SCT) - Helps to improve durability on hard crashes.

TKR5163 V2 Adjustable Hinge Pin Brace C block, 7075 CNC, EB/NB/ET/NT/SCT) - Helps to improve durability on hard crashes.

TKR5545B HRC Rear Hubs (L/R, CV or uni, SCT.3/SL) - Improves stability of the rear on mid to corner exit. Allows harder acceleration on corner exit.

TKR6146 - CNC Delrin Shock Cartridge Set

TiNi Shock Shafts
-TKR6004T (front)
-TKR6017T (rear)


What spare parts should I keep on hand?
TKR5020 Hinge Pins (inner, front/rear)
TKR5516 Front Suspension Arms and TKR5515 Rear Suspension Arms
TKR5542 Spindle Carriers - TKR5541B Spindles
TKR6009 Shock O-Ring and Bladder Set (for 2 shocks)

Tips and Tricks

List of Vehicle Setup Adjustments and Build Tips can be found here. There are several videos and articles detailing the building of shocks, diffs, camber links, etc.

Setup Sheets:
Setup sheets for all Tekno RC vehicles can be found here. Please be sure to try our recommended setup. It works very well on most tracks.

Warranty Policy:
Tekno RC is the only company in the industry that will give 50% off of parts if returned to them using the General Warranty return policy found on their website. The parts can be lightly used or completely abused, as long as the part is still being produced it's covered!

Piston Drills:
Some of our setups recommend using pistons that are enlarged. For instance 4x1.9 or 3x2.0. To drill the pistons we recommend the following:
GMK Supply Piston Drill Set
16PC Metric Bit Set Metric Sizes 2.00 to 3.00 MM.

Print Wikipost

Reply

Old 07-24-2018, 12:45 PM
  #5656  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: North NJ
Posts: 53
Default

Hey all,

Is there a Tekno branded clamping aluminum servo horn for Hitec servos for the SCT? I went on Amain and didn't see one - I believe they have a 24T spline, correct? I only saw 23 and 25T in Tekno brand. Or a good one from another brand - I see a Hitec specific one from M2C that's not clamping.

Thanks
hord1080 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 12:56 PM
  #5657  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
teknorc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,160
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hord1080 View Post
Hey all,

Is there a Tekno branded clamping aluminum servo horn for Hitec servos for the SCT? I went on Amain and didn't see one - I believe they have a 24T spline, correct? I only saw 23 and 25T in Tekno brand. Or a good one from another brand - I see a Hitec specific one from M2C that's not clamping.

Thanks
Hi,
All of our 23T and 24T servo horns have been discontinued . The standard is 25T and that is the only spline we will be manufacturing in the future.
teknorc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 02:16 PM
  #5658  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
RazorRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hord1080 View Post
Hey all,

Is there a Tekno branded clamping aluminum servo horn for Hitec servos for the SCT? I went on Amain and didn't see one - I believe they have a 24T spline, correct? I only saw 23 and 25T in Tekno brand. Or a good one from another brand - I see a Hitec specific one from M2C that's not clamping.

Thanks
Some of the Hitec servos are now 25t, so double check your model and see. Not sure if it's just newer ones or what.
RazorRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 02:24 PM
  #5659  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: North NJ
Posts: 53
Default

bummer! My servo is the popular Hitec HS-7955TG but it looks like 24T spline. Anyone know of alternatives?
hord1080 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2018, 07:15 PM
  #5660  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Temecula
Posts: 1,643
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hord1080 View Post
bummer! My servo is the popular Hitec HS-7955TG but it looks like 24T spline. Anyone know of alternatives?
If you can find one of the OFNA ones, https://www.amainhobbies.com/ofna-cn...n10774/p197370, those will work.
Matthew_Armeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 09:53 AM
  #5661  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Default

One of these days, I need to 100% read through this thread.

I run on a indoor clay track.
My sct410.3 started out at 7 lbs.
Got it down to 6.5 lbs.
Next change I'm thinking about, is the motor.
In the past, I ran a Tekin 540 size motor, the 4300. I am currently running the Maclan 540 size motor, their 4150.
Both are stupid fast for our tack.
I'm running the Hobbywing XERUN speed control, as I could not find the older Orion one I liked.

If I go down to a smaller size motor, to save weight. Would a Hobbywing XERUN SCT motor be a good one? 5100? 4300? 6100?
Or another make? How do the KV's compare between the smaller and larger Cans?
sea1swk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 11:49 AM
  #5662  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: North NJ
Posts: 53
Default

I just got this SCT with the smaller can HW 4300 and it rips. The KV should be the same for either size can. I think it balances the car out better too. The guy that owns my local shop that runs on a small high grip clay indoor track says the 3800kv is the sweet spot since they are so fast. I get that totally But I ended up going for more power.
hord1080 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 09:35 AM
  #5663  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wapakoneta, OH
Posts: 16
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sea1swk View Post
One of these days, I need to 100% read through this thread.

I run on a indoor clay track.
My sct410.3 started out at 7 lbs.
Got it down to 6.5 lbs.
Next change I'm thinking about, is the motor.
In the past, I ran a Tekin 540 size motor, the 4300. I am currently running the Maclan 540 size motor, their 4150.
Both are stupid fast for our tack.
I'm running the Hobbywing XERUN speed control, as I could not find the older Orion one I liked.

If I go down to a smaller size motor, to save weight. Would a Hobbywing XERUN SCT motor be a good one? 5100? 4300? 6100?
Or another make? How do the KV's compare between the smaller and larger Cans?
I know that Joe Bornhorst current Pro4 National Title holder and Ryan Lutz both run Tekin 4600 motors in their sct's at all tracks they race them on. This includes indoor clay tracks. They also run with some Tekno upgrades but nothing to really make the sct weigh less. I have found great success running Joe Bornhorst's 2017 Motorama setup. Running a 4600kv motor will be easier on your batteries.

Last edited by bigdaddy83; 08-01-2018 at 10:41 AM. Reason: Wrong motor size
bigdaddy83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 07:08 AM
  #5664  
Tech Adept
 
JoeRC123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Default

Where is there a tiken 4700? I just see a 4600. Link?
JoeRC123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 08:05 AM
  #5665  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (31)
 
Matthew_Armeni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Temecula
Posts: 1,643
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoeRC123 View Post
Where is there a tiken 4700? I just see a 4600. Link?
They ran the 4600.
Matthew_Armeni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 07:50 AM
  #5666  
Tech Adept
 
JoeRC123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 145
Default

Originally Posted by Matthew_Armeni View Post
They ran the 4600.
Thanks. Would this be an improvement over the Pro4 HD 4300 ?
JoeRC123 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 10:40 AM
  #5667  
Tech Rookie
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wapakoneta, OH
Posts: 16
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoeRC123 View Post
Where is there a tiken 4700? I just see a 4600. Link?
Oops! Sorry about that. Tekin 4600 is what I was meaning.
bigdaddy83 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 06:27 PM
  #5668  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mill Creek, WA
Posts: 111
Default

Originally Posted by JoeRC123 View Post


Thanks. Would this be an improvement over the Pro4 HD 4300 ?
it depends on your track. Overall though I like the 4300 better for the large outdoor track I run on. If you run roar races the 4300 is not approved.
crash n go is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 10:44 AM
  #5669  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 211
Default

So to save some weight, I went with a "Hobbywing XERUN SCT 3652SD G2 Sensored Brushless Motor (4300kV)".

It has a smaller can, and lighter than my:
"Maclan MR4 Competition 4-Pole SCT Sensored Brushless Motor (4150Kv)"
and I used to run a:
"Tekin Pro4 HD 4-Pole Brushless 550 Motor w/5mm Shaft (4,300kV)"

Overall, I believe the Mclan is smoother and runs cooler. But in overall power on an indoor clay track, all 3 are stupid fast. I'm sticking with the Hobbywing, as it is lighter, and more room to run wires. There would be no way, I would feel the need to purchase a motor with more power. I would not even hesitate to take all 3 of these, to a big outdoor track.
a1 likes this.
sea1swk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2018, 08:05 AM
  #5670  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Default

are there any base set-ups for med ,hard pack,and PROGRESSIVE BANKING ?
mikeee is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service