Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
RB S5 will not start!!! >

RB S5 will not start!!!

RB S5 will not start!!!

Reply

Old 10-09-2005, 05:46 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,927
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Unhappy RB S5 will not start!!!

hi guys,
i really need so encouragement because this engine is bugging the crap out of me. i don't want to install another engine in my buggy. i have an RB S5 .21 engine. i am having some serious trouble getting the thing to start. i was barely able to start it, and only one tank of gas has been run through it at idle. however, i can't get the engine to start for the second tank at all!!! now i know this is a common problem with new engines, but the piston is constantly getting stuck at TDC!!! which means i have to take the buggy of the starter box and turn over the flywheel with a screw driver manually, which is really annoying. i installed a brand new plug, fuel is still good, although it was bought in early summer(maybe not still good ), and the glow driver has been thoroughly charged(but doesn't hold a very good charge ). so, what should i do before i give up on this thing??? any help would greatly be appreciated.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 05:52 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
schmelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What kind of starter box are you using? RB engines usually arent as tight as some others out there. Try heating the engine to 200degrees with a heat gun, loosen the glow plug. this should do the trick.
Make sure the idle is high enough if its to low the piston can actually stick and snub out engine.
schmelme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 11:59 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 513
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes after the idle tank there is a lot of fuel and oil residue in the bottom of the engine. Take the plug out and give it a couple of bumps on the box, to help clear it out. The heat gun trick works well too.
chrispy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 05:33 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,927
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the advice. however, i used a hairdryer to heat up the engine a bit, maybe only to 150 though....i will use the higher setting on it to get the engine hotter.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 05:51 AM
  #5  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,469
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

For me being a newbie with nitro I was hitting the same issue with another engine. The LHS helped me out and I found out I was flooding the engine. I also used a hair dryer but got it up to 200 and that worked better than lower temps.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 08:06 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (83)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,517
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

Don't be scared to lean it out to get it up to temp. A good fuel will have enough oil so lubrication is not a problem. It's more important to get the temp up to-over 200f. Any less and it's just wearing out the P/S fit. If you are still getting stuck @ TDC then you are not at risk of that yet. Also, let it cool with the piston at BDC every run for as long as you own it.
Davidka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 10:30 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,927
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

i asked the guy at my LHS that i am using a cold plug. he gave me a medium-hot and hot Mcoy plug to use. i put in the hot plug and(still using the old glow driver) got the engine to start once, for about 7 seconds. i got a brand new glow driver/battery, so i will try that tomarro. i also got new fuel just in case.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 10:36 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (16)
 
supralative's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

patience it will start
heat it with a heat gun and put some metallic tape around the head to keep the heat it makes in one area
my buddy is running this engine and yea its very tight when new
we had to use a heat gun everytime for like the first 5 tanks

we also used the stock plug that was with it but once we broke it in we switched to a McCoy MC9 plug

god luck....killer engine
i will have one soon too...unless I go C5 Big Bottom hehehhe

Last edited by supralative; 10-10-2005 at 10:48 AM.
supralative is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 02:02 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Longview,TX
Posts: 669
Default

When an engine is new and at stoock settings it will get flooded alot.Unless you lean out the LSN then it will idle longer because of less fuel at low throttle.But just heat it with a heat gun and get the temps to at least 200-230.Are you going to drive it around or just run it on the starter box?
Kanai II is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service