Wiki Posts
Search

Stock Slash Racing from a Newbie Perspective

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2015, 09:58 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Stock Slash Racing from a Newbie Perspective

The thing I love about R/C is there is always something out there to tickle the fancy of just about anyone with a pulse. I've recently been awaken to find the joys of owning my first r/c truck and wanted to chronicle my journey into entry level racing.

First off I'm admittedly a total noob to r/c cars/trucks. So please forgive me if some if not most of what I'm originally posting is going to be extremely elementary and basically a regurgitation of multiple websites and postings I've found and applied to my Slash. That being said even though this might resemble more of a blog than a informative thread I welcome all comments and suggestions that are constructive in nature to all of those who aspire not only to bash but to throw their hat into the ring of racing.

A brief tidbit about myself, I have never owned an off-road car or truck nor participated in racing them so again please do not expect my original contributions to put you on the podium, my background is in airplanes and my passion is in pylon racing and have raced all sorts off different aircraft with great success. My pylon racing downfall, I live in MN, so the pylon race season is short lived and you can only imagine my excitement when I recently witnessed the joys of indoor off-road racing, how excited was I? I left the track early so I could make it to the hobby store before they closed to buy my Slash.

My Truck and set-up for good or bad;
2wd Orange Robby Gordon edition Slash
Spektrum 4c Radio
Stock stearing servo
50 wt oil on all 4 shocks w/ 2 hole pistons
0 tow in front
-2.5 camber front and back
Outer shock position hole for front and 2nd from the last for the rear
Rear upper-link in top hole
Geared 90/19
2s 50c 5200mah lipo at the rear of the battery tray