R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2005, 11:29 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: red deer
Posts: 68
Default ELECTRIC STAMPEDE!

im currently running traxxas stampede with a novac super rooster and a 13t orion motor. im wondering what i should run for a batteries. im currently running a 3000 pack but i thought it would have more power and run time?? im thinking of building my own matched pac of 3300. what does anyone think??should i get a 10t and run the 3300 packs that are already made up with connectors and all?? maybe i should go brushless???? any ideas would be helpfull im new to electic trucks.thanks
iceman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:05 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

If you can afford brushless then go brushless. For good batteries look at www.hyperform-racing.com

They sell GP3300's for $38 including assembly.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:21 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: red deer
Posts: 68
Default

thanks man , ive been thinking about it and i think im going to order a brushless kit and batteries on monday.
iceman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 12:41 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman123
thanks man , ive been thinking about it and i think im going to order a brushless kit and batteries on monday.
Which BL system were you looking at?

I suggest the SS5800 as you can pick these up relatively cheap ($160) from Novak's remanufactured shop. Wheelies all day!

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 09:13 AM   #5
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,543
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

You should see a boost in runtime with the brushless system. Only thing is that you may, and this a big may, see a decrease in speed with the novak SS system. The system at times and depending on the application and perform anywhere between a 12 turn or a 19 turn motor. It really depends on the type of motor you are running right now for comparision. If you are just using one of those cheap mods, you will probably see more speed with your brushless.

The nice thing you will see with the brushless is more torque. the SS systems just really have a lot of torque on them, almost too much. guys could easily wheelie there stadium trucks, you should have no problem doing that with your stampede.

If you don't go brushless but want more runs between maintenance, the Orion V2 motors will give you that.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 01:23 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

It's hard to tell exactly how comparably the SS5800 is. Gearing plays a big role to determine it's power to a brushed motor.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 03:51 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
SocalSnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fresno, CA 4th & Lonely
Posts: 842
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to SocalSnakeEyes
Default

Make sure to put the Alum. idler gear in when your running that much power.
look here too
SocalSnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 04:58 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Platinum_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rowley MA
Posts: 1,844
Send a message via MSN to Platinum_Racing
Default

Not to spam, but we also have some cool Stampede parts. Check them out at www.TeamPlatinumRacing.com/StampedeParts.html.

The new ESC Mount will also fit, but it will be a bit off center because the mounting holes are off center on the Stampede chassis.
Platinum_Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WWT For Hopped up electric Stampede RCNUT R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 08-22-2006 08:18 AM
Electric stampede Crashhole R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 02-20-2006 11:07 AM
Electric Stampede F/S F/T magna_matt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 03-26-2005 03:02 PM
Electric Stampede pede Electric Off-Road 3 03-08-2004 12:04 AM
Electric Stampede RTR! SuperChargedGeo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-19-2004 06:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net