Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
kyosho electric offroad >

kyosho electric offroad

kyosho electric offroad

Reply

Old 12-14-2010, 01:48 PM
  #9001  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,370
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

i want to get the big bores.. anyone here notice a huge difference in the 2wd?
dgrobe2112 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:10 AM
  #9002  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the ZX-5 FS bulkhead/tower mounts fit the regular zx-5? I have snapped 2 rear tower mounts the last few times out and want to try something to stop it. May have to track down some aluminum mounts.
Blacktiger355 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:11 AM
  #9003  
Tech Regular
 
Djioul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 322
Default

Originally Posted by Blacktiger355 View Post
Does anyone know if the ZX-5 FS bulkhead/tower mounts fit the regular zx-5? I have snapped 2 rear tower mounts the last few times out and want to try something to stop it. May have to track down some aluminum mounts.
My 2 cents : get some 3R aluminum parts, or any other brand, I've done it after keeping breaking the tower mounts and never had any more issues with this.
Djioul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:08 AM
  #9004  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Yeah, thats what I am thinking. Whats is a good place to get them? Been looking without much luck.
Blacktiger355 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 05:40 AM
  #9005  
Tech Regular
 
Djioul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 322
Default

Originally Posted by Blacktiger355 View Post
Yeah, thats what I am thinking. Whats is a good place to get them? Been looking without much luck.
For hop-ups like this, we are struggling to get them in local shops in Europe, so I usually order in HK to rcmart.com

But it depends where you are, it could be easier in US, I don't know...
Djioul is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:27 PM
  #9006  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,376
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Blacktiger A-MAIN
tonyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 10:08 AM
  #9007  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tonyd View Post
Blacktiger A-MAIN
Tried there Tony. I could not find it on their website.
Blacktiger355 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:54 AM
  #9008  
Tech Fanatic
 
Brenos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney, where else?
Posts: 993
Default

Im not a 100% sure but i think those parts are discontinued.
Get the FS bulkhead set. Its an upgrade to the original and its stronger. And it fits the original bulkhead.

Cheers
Brendan
Brenos is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:10 AM
  #9009  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,208
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Brenos View Post
Im not a 100% sure but i think those parts are discontinued.
Get the FS bulkhead set. Its an upgrade to the original and its stronger. And it fits the original bulkhead.

Cheers
Brendan
Yup it fits the original bulkhead. There's a lot of more material on the fs bulkhead so u will get the shock tower positioned just a little wee bit higher than standard position. U might need to unscrew the shock eyelets by a couple of turns otherwise u will lose some droop.

In the few mths that I ran the fs bulkhead, I found it to be stronger than either pn racing or 3racing ones which bent too easily.
wyl03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 04:38 AM
  #9010  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Awesome, thanks for the info guys. I did find that stella models does still stock the aluminum 3racing ones. But I will try the fs parts first and see how it holds up. Looks to have a lot more material where it counts. So it should be good.
Blacktiger355 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 09:33 AM
  #9011  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 166
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hey everyone, Ive had my ZX-5 for 3 years ow and I've decided to sell it. I'm moving on to a differnet racing class. It's been a ton of fun and very good car.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...uggy-sale.html
jhassing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 11:56 AM
  #9012  
Tech Apprentice
 
HighGs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default Lazer ZX5 kit brushless question

Found a really good deal on an Lazer ZX5 (origional) kit. I'm very excited to get to the build! Just have a question about using a brushless system on it (sorry if this has been addressed somewhere else; I've been looking but there are SOOO many pages on this forum and the search button hasn't helped too much!)

I'd like to use the Leopard 3300kv/12T brushless combo. Though I've been into RC for years, this would be my first brushless motor. I've watched several videos of people using brushless, and it seems that some who use this inexpensive setup can barely control their vehicles! Several seem to strip gears, spin out, flip over, etc. I thought that this setup was realitively mild. (Again, my ignorance of brushless motors means I could very well be wrong!)

My question is, can the ZX5 kit handle the power from this (or any) brushless system? I am mainly wanting to go brushless for the convenience; I'd prefer to be able to control my buggy rather than go 50mph!

If brushless is going to be too much, any suggestions on a good brushed motor?

Any help or links to help would be most appreciated! I'll keep scrolling through the 500+ pages in the mean time!

Thanks!
HighGs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 07:45 PM
  #9013  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

It should be fine. I think I have a 5.5 or 6.5 in my Original zx-5.
Scrad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:25 AM
  #9014  
Tech Apprentice
 
HighGs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks! Any problems fitting a lipo in it?
HighGs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:36 AM
  #9015  
Tech Apprentice
 
HighGs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
Default origional ZX5

I was able to find more info on the Leopard Brushless combo using the "advanced search" so I think I was able to find the info I needed. I think that is the direction I'm going to go.

Are there any issues with fitting a lipo into the origional ZX5?
HighGs is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service