Like Tree286Likes

Yokomo YZ-2

    Hide Wikipost
Old 04-09-2019, 06:52 AM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Yokomo YZ-2
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: mes
Welcome to the YZ2 Wiki!

Setup Sheets can be found here

DT CA DTM parts comparison

YZ2T Tranny Conversion List

YOKZ2-300RFT
YOKZ2-302CT
YOKZ2-302T
YOKZ2-304T
YOKZ2-503I
YOKZ2-0023

Print Wikipost

Reply

Old 02-22-2019, 01:42 PM
  #4381  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (71)
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 663
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Check out the setup sheets and pics on petitrc and you'll find plenty of plastic steering parts that were ran on fairly high grip. I'm a sucker for aluminum bits myself as I don't like threading into plastic when there is an alternative, but if it works well enough so be it.
negatv1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 05:28 PM
  #4382  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by negatv1 View Post
Check out the setup sheets and pics on petitrc and you'll find plenty of plastic steering parts that were ran on fairly high grip. I'm a sucker for aluminum bits myself as I don't like threading into plastic when there is an alternative, but if it works well enough so be it.
The pics definitely indicate Lee was running the 2T (plastic) center link at the most recent EOS race.
BK24 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2019, 03:08 PM
  #4383  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (153)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,361
Trader Rating: 153 (100%+)
Default

The team guys here in Portland are switching to the plastic steering from the truck. They say it feels more linear. But they are running the full setup of plastic, not using any aluminum steering pieces because of breakages to the center link.
Cain likes this.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 03:56 PM
  #4384  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I just ordered the yz-2 stock edition, I currently running the dtm2 edition. Looking too see if there is anything I need to get for add-ons, to make this thing rip and roar like my dtm2. I will be running it on high grip clay track 90% of the time.
Computerjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 06:56 PM
  #4385  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (153)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,361
Trader Rating: 153 (100%+)
Default

Same upgrades minus battery brace system. Get the truck steering if it doesn’t have it.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 01:25 AM
  #4386  
Tech Adept
 
wothrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 196
Default

Stupid question, but Im sure you can help me. My rc10t5m laydown conversion with gear diff needs new plastic gears. Associated has discontinued them, i.e. in Germany they are not available anymore. Maybe the yokomo parts will fit?
wothrottle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 01:48 AM
  #4387  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,513
Default

Originally Posted by wothrottle View Post
Stupid question, but Im sure you can help me. My rc10t5m laydown conversion with gear diff needs new plastic gears. Associated has discontinued them, i.e. in Germany they are not available anymore. Maybe the yokomo parts will fit?
What gears? The small idler gear Z2-503I used in the 4-gear YZ-2 and the belt-drive YZ-4 will fit in the T5M 3-gear and 4-gear transmissions. I cannot think of any other gears that fit, and I used to have all these cars at some point. If you need any diff parts, the SC10 gear diff should fit the 5-generation AE cars.
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 04:10 AM
  #4388  
Tech Adept
 
wothrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 196
Default

If the dler gear fits, maybe the diff gear also fits? looks pretty the same.

the sc10 gear set is also no available in Germany. So I need a good source , would also switch to a complete yokomo diff if needed, as my t5m is a laydown conversion with many hop ups and I see no need to switch to t6.1 despite those shabby spare parts supply.
wothrottle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 05:31 AM
  #4389  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,513
Default

Originally Posted by wothrottle View Post
If the dler gear fits, maybe the diff gear also fits? looks pretty the same.

the sc10 gear set is also no available in Germany. So I need a good source , would also switch to a complete yokomo diff if needed, as my t5m is a laydown conversion with many hop ups and I see no need to switch to t6.1 despite those shabby spare parts supply.
The number of teeth is the same (52?). I just measured my B-Max2 diff, which is basically the same as the YZ-2 diff. The flat sides of the housing are 17.9 mm, the overall width including outdrives is 48.9 mm.
While I understand that you don't want to part with your hopped-up T5M, I dare say it would probably be worth replacing it with an up-to-date truck, no matter if AE, TLR, Xray or Yokomo. I used to have a B5M with the original Redworkshop lowrider conversion, and the box-stock YZ-2 was so much better that I sold all my 5th generation AE stuff back in the day.
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 12:41 AM
  #4390  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 92
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jpcopeland1 View Post
Same upgrades minus battery brace system. Get the truck steering if it doesnt have it.
Just got my kit in the mail and it does have the truck steering included, can't wait..
Computerjoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:11 PM
  #4391  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Diffing out

I am using a YZ2 Cal2 for a few months and I seem to have this problem in the turns that it feels and sounds like its diffing out. I race on Turf only. At first I used 2 gears in the diff with 7k. I changed it to use all 4 gears and up the diff to 10k. Tried with roll bar and no roll bar. I put stiffer springs up front and softer in the rear. I have adjusted the roll center as well. Still has not helped with the feeling in corners on power. Someone at the track mentioned to really go up on the diff fluid to 50K and up. Any suggestions.

Thanks.
Mononga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 12:44 PM
  #4392  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,513
Default

Originally Posted by Mononga View Post
I am using a YZ2 Cal2 for a few months and I seem to have this problem in the turns that it feels and sounds like its diffing out. I race on Turf only. At first I used 2 gears in the diff with 7k. I changed it to use all 4 gears and up the diff to 10k. Tried with roll bar and no roll bar. I put stiffer springs up front and softer in the rear. I have adjusted the roll center as well. Still has not helped with the feeling in corners on power. Someone at the track mentioned to really go up on the diff fluid to 50K and up. Any suggestions.

Thanks.
Hard to say from a distance and without knowing the track or your set-up in general. As a general starting point for smooth, high-grip Astro I'd say 550 shock oil/RP black or Yatabe red in the front, 350/RP orange or Yatabe green in the rear, shocks on the rear inside/inside and no droop limiters inside, upper rear links on the inside as low as possible and in the innermost hole. Diff with 4 gears and 7000 or 2 at 15K should be ok. Make sure that your suspension is free and that your shooks are smooth, check your shock shafts and seals.
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 03:43 AM
  #4393  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,513
Default

The LC gearbox is here: https://teamyokomo.com/topics/9277/

Cain and Computerjoe like this.
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 06:46 PM
  #4394  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 448
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

So all stock internals is the same? Just need motor plate and top shaft? No drilling into chassis?
RodRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 03:18 AM
  #4395  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,513
Default

Originally Posted by RodRC View Post
So all stock internals is the same? Just need motor plate and top shaft? No drilling into chassis?
Yokomo lists several parts on the website. As far as I understand you need the motor mount, gear box, top piece and c block from the truck. The spur gear cover is included in the battery mount set, which many people will already have installed.
mes is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service