R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 09-14-2005, 01:44 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice

Default What is Best Stock Electric Motor

I am new to electric off road.. I was in Nitro off road.. I am starting new to electric. I was wondering what is the best stock motor on the market today. I am looking at the Trinity P2k2 and the Monster Stock Pro..I am running a buggy (BK2)....Please help..

Thanx
Jason
JD4040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 01:46 PM   #2
Tech Elite

For 2wd buggy, you can't really beat the Monster.
Old 09-14-2005, 01:55 PM   #3
Tech Master

Send a message via MSN to Platinum_Racing

Not to be contrary, but the P2K2 is by far the better off road motor, at least for bashing purposes. It has more torque at the expense of speed. The Monster is best suited to short track racing, while the Green Machine on the other hand is best suited to large oval and large fast tracks.

The P2K2 Pro is a great off-road motor. The Integy V10 Twin Turbo is a very suprising choice too. We were suprised to see how fast it was. It could have better torque, but it's speed is insane, better suited to on-road application.

To give you an idea of the torque of the P2K2, people at my on-road track run them in Stampede's with foam tires and 34/84 gearing. They go faster than Hell, and my Monster which is geared at 32/84 has a tougher time accelerating out of corners. I often have to battle them to stay ahead out of turns, and put my buddy into the woods last time because he tried to go wide on me.

I run a P2K2 in my T2 beater, because it has great punch, and enough power to accelerate pretty good.

The Monster is best suited to TC and Oval cars, but it does do good in heavier cars if the track is long enough to keep speed up. Otherwise, you'll find yourself losing battles of acceleration, and you may lose your only chance at the precious "Hole shot" if you don't get out there quick.
Platinum_Racing is offline   Reply With Quote