R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-13-2005, 04:28 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default jr radios

pass this on wasnt sure where to post this but its good info that may shock some and some might have known and its been tested i got this rom another forum ------------------------quoted by junior from mgt forums ------I won a couple Venom battery monitors at a race a while back and just now got around to installing em. (sad I know) You plug it into a unused channel (3) (which I used) or use a Y harness to the battery port. I noticed that it was reading low and I just charged the battery. There is a switch for 4.8V or 6V, I had it on 6V so I switched it to 4.8V and it read good. This tells me that the servos are only getting 4.8V, so know I know there is a built in BEC on at least channel 3, checked the other 2 and got the same thing. I called JR and talked to (Steve) and he tells me that yes all receivers built with in the last 3 years are BEC and to bypass it you need to plug the power into a unused channel or use a Y harness into any channel.

SO, if you are using a JR receiver and running a 6V battery you aint getting 6V, I switched mine to channel 3 and it works great, I tried the Y harness also and worked fine. I gave him hell for not having any info in the manual about this, he said it is a warranty type thing to cover them, I said it was BS that I had $150 digital servos getting 4.8V, he says they will work on it.


Did anybody else know this, or am I the only one?
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:32 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default

tested by chevy ss -mgt forums
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:42 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

so your're saying plug the batteries into channel 3 not the battery slot?
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:50 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

holy shite, its true! I got two digital servos too! Thanks for the tip
o.s. power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:55 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default

well the top test was on a 310 reciver but form what i been told by jr is that every reciever 300,135 ,etc in the past 3 years your best bet is to check the the voltage with a meater the bottom test with pics is with the rs300 i think but every jr reciever has this so eghter find out from jr them selfes and some of them will try to deture you do to waranty but doesnt everyone want to get the full potention from their expensive a-- servos ,good luck and yes try plugging it to 3 or to 2 as in the pic
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2005, 04:57 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o.s. power
holy shite, its true! I got two digital servos too! Thanks for the tip
dude you have no idea how many people used the same word and others were extremly mad that they thought they had full power and when they made the switch were all happy again lol
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 02:37 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Thats interesting. Does this apply for other reciever brands?

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 04:23 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default

well so far i checked my futuba no problems and my spectrum, only jr i dont know about airtronics havent tested one yet
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 04:35 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Aaron Waldron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 3,720
Default

From what I remember hearing about this trick, it only benefits the JR systems.
__________________
Aaron Waldron - LiveRC
www.liverc.com
Aaron Waldron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2005, 04:38 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ep nj
Posts: 403
Default

i think you are right
mgtman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba & HPI Radios - Radios ONLY AZrcDude R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-24-2007 11:50 AM
radios? chaos_theory Rookie Zone 12 01-03-2005 01:32 PM
JR Radios Bflat Electric On-Road 13 12-10-2003 03:19 PM
American drivers use pistol grip radios, European/Asian drivers use stick radios Accord Electric On-Road 38 11-07-2003 02:30 AM
radios, radios and a fast nitro boat F/S F/T ditchy1 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-18-2002 05:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:34 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net