Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
New Spektrum DX4s and DX4r??? >

New Spektrum DX4s and DX4r???

New Spektrum DX4s and DX4r???

Old 09-16-2014, 05:20 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Default New Spektrum DX4s and DX4r???

I'm looking at getting my first 'PRO' transmitter. I'm pretty much sold on the DX4s or r. I've just been pricing them up and have noticed Amain and gonitrohobbies on ebay are giving away 2 x ACV receivers for 'FREE'. This sounds like a great deal BUT the sceptic in me is asking why??? Is there a new model or DX4's coming out and are they trying to clear stock???? Or is this just a SUPER deal???
osavage1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 05:54 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I would not think they are replacing that radio for some time yet, they are still fresh and new.

The free AVC though may be just a push to get that technology out in hands. My guess is the cost to spekrum for the AVC vs the basic receiver is not different and if they loose a couple of bucks in margin to up the volume then they are happy with that.

Also, with the habit of running multiple cars on a single radio now it just makes sense to me. Once you buy a radio it is a major expense to change brands later. I use Spektrum now myself because that is what I started with and it is just easier to keep on that path.

Also, FWIW, do not use NiMH in the radio for spektrum you will not like it at all. Use disposable, NiZN or Lipo. The 4 AA radio does not like low voltage and NiMH will be an issue...
lbenton is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 06:02 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 60
Default

Originally Posted by lbenton View Post
I would not think they are replacing that radio for some time yet, they are still fresh and new.

The free AVC though may be just a push to get that technology out in hands. My guess is the cost to spekrum for the AVC vs the basic receiver is not different and if they loose a couple of bucks in margin to up the volume then they are happy with that.

Also, with the habit of running multiple cars on a single radio now it just makes sense to me. Once you buy a radio it is a major expense to change brands later. I use Spektrum now myself because that is what I started with and it is just easier to keep on that path.

Also, FWIW, do not use NiMH in the radio for spektrum you will not like it at all. Use disposable, NiZN or Lipo. The 4 AA radio does not like low voltage and NiMH will be an issue...
Yeh that makes sence mate, I think I'm just paranoid lol. Cheers bro
osavage1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 06:25 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
ferrarieeeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 287
Default

Originally Posted by lbenton View Post
I would not think they are replacing that radio for some time yet, they are still fresh and new.

The free AVC though may be just a push to get that technology out in hands. My guess is the cost to spekrum for the AVC vs the basic receiver is not different and if they loose a couple of bucks in margin to up the volume then they are happy with that.

Also, with the habit of running multiple cars on a single radio now it just makes sense to me. Once you buy a radio it is a major expense to change brands later. I use Spektrum now myself because that is what I started with and it is just easier to keep on that path.

Also, FWIW, do not use NiMH in the radio for spektrum you will not like it at all. Use disposable, NiZN or Lipo. The 4 AA radio does not like low voltage and NiMH will be an issue...
I've been using nimh in my dx3r for a few years before switching to m12, no problems at all
ferrarieeeee is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 10:43 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ferrarieeeee View Post
I've been using nimh in my dx3r for a few years before switching to m12, no problems at all
At the very least NiMH batteries cause range issues in the newer Spektrum transmitters, they only run at 5 volts and it is happier at 6+

At $2 a battery and another $10 or less for a charger I would say NiZN will do you better.
lbenton is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 10:50 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Drerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Originally Posted by osavage1 View Post
I'm looking at getting my first 'PRO' transmitter. I'm pretty much sold on the DX4s or r. I've just been pricing them up and have noticed Amain and gonitrohobbies on ebay are giving away 2 x ACV receivers for 'FREE'. This sounds like a great deal BUT the sceptic in me is asking why??? Is there a new model or DX4's coming out and are they trying to clear stock???? Or is this just a SUPER deal???
Would not buy a Spektrum if you wan't a "pro" transmitter, unless you are sponsored by them. They are not fast, and absolutely not the best out there + they have voltage drop issues.

When you want a decent radio go for the Futaba 4PX (4pk second hand), a 4PL or a sanwa. They are fast, super in the hand and looking nice.

Drove Spektrum and now driving Futaba, I was 0.5s faster
Drerc is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 01:44 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
WIGMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Soo, Michigan
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Yeah that Spektrum stuff is junk........Oh wait.........Maybe not since Dakota Phend used a DX4R to win 6 Roar national championships with it this year.
WIGMAN is offline  
Old 09-16-2014, 01:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Drerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Originally Posted by WIGMAN View Post
Yeah that Spektrum stuff is junk........Oh wait.........Maybe not since Dakota Phend used a DX4R to win 6 Roar national championships with it this year.
Like I said, if you get a sponsorship, do it all the way ! The pro's drive as good with everything, but it all goes about the $$$
Drerc is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.