R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-22-2005, 08:21 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Brushless in a T3/T4

Can a novak hv maxx brushless sytem fit in a t4 or t3? Which brushless system would you recomend for my aplication?
coolguy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 08:24 AM   #2
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: winterset iowa
Posts: 87
Default

me and my buddies run a novak 5800 brushless in our t3s and t4s and they work great.
stampeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 09:42 AM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the hv-maxx system will fit in a t3/t4. How fast can a t3 reach with a ss5800. Does a brushless sytems have longer battery life?
coolguy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 07:15 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 145
Default

I don't know much about the hv-maxx, although it is marketed for use with e-maxx truck. The 5800 system works great for 10th scale stadium trucks. Yes, you do get longer battery life. I have run over 10 minutes with virtually no power loss. I usually start losing noticeable power around the 15 to 20 minute mark. I use GP3300's and GP 3700's

Watch out for over heating, though. It will shut down if it gets too hot. Usually related to gearing ratios. I think shut down occurs around 180F or 190F. The speed control is where the most heat is generated. Trucks usually have enough open air from underneath the body, where as buggies don't. You may need to cut an aitflow hole for a buggy.

Good luck,
Brian
briansid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 09:41 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know if the hv-maxx will fit in a t3/t4? The novak site says that hv-maxx sytem in a e-maxx can go 38 mph. Im hopeing my t3/t4 will go 50. What do you think.
coolguy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2005, 11:49 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
JoshR 85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Franklin
Posts: 1,345
Default

HeY!!!


i personally think it will fit in t3/t4, but tight fit... and it will prolly make it go about 50 but that also depends on the gearin that you put on it... that will vary dependin if you go for top end or torq if you're just bashin, or racin and all that....


LaTa JoSh
JoshR 85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 02:00 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

If you can remove the black heatsinks from the HV then it will fit in a T4. The HV motor is 550 sized and is the same width as a 540 motor, only much longer so you will have problems protecting the HV from scrapage.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 08:18 AM   #8
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to RC Noob Send a message via MSN to RC Noob
Default

why do u want to put the hv-maxx into a t4? just get the novak supersport plus brushless or you can wait for the GTB racing brushless novak is going to come out with.
RC Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 10:02 AM   #9
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: grand rapids, michigan
Posts: 32
Default

i run the neo and sphere in my MF2 it it is awesome, i love it, the hv-maxx will prolly fit, but it is pointless.....wait for the mamba if you are goin to go with HUGE BRUSHLESS, i talked to the man at castle creations and he said my mf2 would go 100mph with a 4 cell lipo and their new mamba, so if ur goin for speed, wait for the mamba maxx
spitfireo33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2005, 08:10 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

You also have to realise that using 6 cells won't cut it for the HV-Maxx. You really need 12-14 cells to unleash its real power.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 09:09 AM   #11
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to RC Noob Send a message via MSN to RC Noob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spitfireo33
i run the neo and sphere in my MF2 it it is awesome, i love it, the hv-maxx will prolly fit, but it is pointless.....wait for the mamba if you are goin to go with HUGE BRUSHLESS, i talked to the man at castle creations and he said my mf2 would go 100mph with a 4 cell lipo and their new mamba, so if ur goin for speed, wait for the mamba maxx

WTF REALLY SPITFIRE? WHOA 100 mph? man that means buggy can go maybe 110? dayuM! thats freaking crazy!!! my buggy goes 60mph tops with a regular novak brushless supersport+
RC Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 01:16 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Noob
WTF REALLY SPITFIRE? WHOA 100 mph? man that means buggy can go maybe 110? dayuM! thats freaking crazy!!! my buggy goes 60mph tops with a regular novak brushless supersport+
How? The SS can only handle up to 7 cells.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 03:00 PM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: West Milford, NJ 07480
Posts: 129
Default

Spitfire
Did the guy say when it would be out or how much it would cost?
B-Mur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2005, 03:15 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
mach51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lafayette, IN
Posts: 4,278
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

not only is the SS5800 the right one for the T4 but also alot cheaper.
Ive had my GTB on back order for 2 months now...

60mph with a SS5800 is almost as funny as 100mph with the Mamba Maxx lol...I love reading how fast people think there cars are
mach51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 07:21 AM   #15
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

I think either a used SS5800 system ($150) or the new, unreleased GTB system ($250) would be much better.

A HV in a T4 is highly impractical.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:06 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net