Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated T5M Discussion >

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Like Tree107Likes

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Old 04-15-2019, 07:06 PM
  #4126  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,356
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Talking

Originally Posted by Burl Swift View Post
Just wanted to provide a quick update to my last post. Team Associated has already responded to my email and will see if they have any of the parts we're missing. Impressive customer service so far, even though we're missing parts to a kit they no longer make. They might have just gotten a customer for life...
I've always had excellent experiences with AE customer service, glad you are getting the same treatment.
Been running my T4 now that the snow's gone, time to get the T5M out soon, and finish building another for my kids. Guess I'm going to take a peak in the sale section for a T6 .. Can never have too many AE rides. Although my wife tends to disagree..
Burl Swift likes this.
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 04-16-2019, 06:50 AM
  #4127  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Big_Show View Post
I would say they can get most of the parts as the ProSC10/Trophy Rat/DB10 run the same a arms/hubs/axles as the T5M and SC5M. The rear shock tower and 25 degree kick up front arm mount are a couple parts going to be hard to come by.
That gives me hope. I have been able to locate several replacement hubs and aftermarket ones as well if Team Associated is unable to help, I'll see what they can do first though before ordering. I might start trying to source a tower though.
Big_Show likes this.
Burl Swift is offline  
Old 04-22-2019, 10:52 AM
  #4128  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I just wanted to provide my final update from Team Associated. They are sending us everything we need to complete the build, again, great customer service! I had planned on buying myself a 2wd buggy this summer, because of this excellent service I believe I'll purchase a B6.1!
jbrow1 and Big_Show like this.
Burl Swift is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 09:36 PM
  #4129  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 153
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Where are you guys getting front and rear arms for the t5m/sc5m? i searched most of the main rc sites everyone is on back order?
midship909 is offline  
Old 05-08-2019, 10:05 PM
  #4130  
mes
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,799
Default

71010 has been replaced by the front and rear arm set 71015, but it is also out of stock on AE's website.
mes is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 03:30 AM
  #4131  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Default

I can't post the link but if you look in associatedelectrics ebay store they have T5M kit bags.
TitanRob is offline  
Old 05-13-2019, 10:41 AM
  #4132  
Tech Adept
 
Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southern California
Posts: 245
Default

https://www.ebay.com/itm/NIB-70001-1...item546a1e12ca

Here is the link for the T5m kit bags, there are 29 of them available.
Donn is offline  
Old 05-14-2019, 11:29 AM
  #4133  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,356
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Charging a battery for my T5M as I type. Been running my T4 at my home track lately, but time to get the 5 back out. I've got 3 T5M and 4 B5M vehicles, if all I can get for parts come in $50 variety bags, it'll be time to sell and upgrade I suppose.
jbrow1 is offline  
Old 08-30-2019, 02:23 PM
  #4134  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default t6.1 arms on a t5m

will the t6.1 arms fit the t5m?
light is offline  
Old 08-31-2019, 10:40 PM
  #4135  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

can someone suggest anything the t5m can use or utilize for carpet setup? and vise versa for outdoor dirt?

right now the t5m i have has a 4gear transmission btw

thanks in advance!
vegas7o2 is offline  
Old 09-11-2019, 06:32 PM
  #4136  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

i bought a t5m roller and I am trying to get it running, the servo area had the servo link connected to ball stud that goes into servo horn - however the ball stud that was in this link was a larger ball head than the ones on my t6.1 and b6.1 so the link on those dont fit this, the ball head from those almost slide right in and out of this.

so my first question is does the t5m by default have a larger ball head link , and then does it hurt to go to the smaller one ? for instance get a smaller link liek the one on t6.1 and b6.1 etc. ? thanks
vegas7o2 is offline  
Old 01-24-2020, 06:29 PM
  #4137  
Tech Rookie
 
FooD2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11
Default

Originally Posted by vegas7o2 View Post
i bought a t5m roller and I am trying to get it running, the servo area had the servo link connected to ball stud that goes into servo horn - however the ball stud that was in this link was a larger ball head than the ones on my t6.1 and b6.1 so the link on those dont fit this, the ball head from those almost slide right in and out of this.

so my first question is does the t5m by default have a larger ball head link , and then does it hurt to go to the smaller one ? for instance get a smaller link liek the one on t6.1 and b6.1 etc. ? thanks
I had the same issue and i ended up micky mousing different eyes to fit... i know that doesn't help much w/o part numbers and pictures but... I went to 3 hobby shops and none of them had any ball studs to fit the t5m..
FooD2000 is offline  
Old 01-24-2020, 08:43 PM
  #4138  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (94)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 539
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vegas7o2 View Post
i bought a t5m roller and I am trying to get it running, the servo area had the servo link connected to ball stud that goes into servo horn - however the ball stud that was in this link was a larger ball head than the ones on my t6.1 and b6.1 so the link on those dont fit this, the ball head from those almost slide right in and out of this.

so my first question is does the t5m by default have a larger ball head link , and then does it hurt to go to the smaller one ? for instance get a smaller link liek the one on t6.1 and b6.1 etc. ? thanks
Between the B5, B5m, T5m and SC5m, I have had probably 15-20 vehicles in the '5' series come through here, probably even more … in that, I have seen several kinds of links used between the steering sector arm and the servo horn … however, the 91455 steering link, used with the same heavy duty ball studs used throughout the rest of the car (91047 6mm) is what you will find in all of the manuals for the '5' series, and my preference of use …

I assume the OP has solved the issue by now, but for any further readers sharing the issue, you can use ANY method/type of your choice that accomplishes the task … several of those I had seen used the small ball studs and ball cups from the B4/T4/SC10 series … use what you like, but there may be some adaption needed to make work, where the above part #'s are the stock and supplied components for anyone looking ...
FooD2000 likes this.
tomkatn is online now  
Old 01-26-2020, 07:21 AM
  #4139  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chesapeake, Va
Posts: 18
Default

What is the most popular set up for carpet? I have the stock set up right now. I local track opened up and we are running carpet, just curious on what you guys would suggest changing?
TonyNation is offline  
Old 01-28-2020, 09:02 AM
  #4140  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Jim85IROC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Readsboro, VT
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody know of a 2.2 stadium truck wheel that has more offset than the stock T5M wheels, but has a thin enough space between the hex and the nut mounting surface so that I can actually thread a nut onto the axles? I bought some Losi 22T wheels because they have the offset that I need, but the area between the hex and the nut mounting surface is so thick that absolutely no threads protrude, so I can't thread the wheel nut on!

For those who are wondering, this is for an SC5M drag car that I'm building. The body I chose is a little wider than the bodies designed for buggy suspension arms, but the stock T5M wheels stick out about 1/4" too far on all 4 corners. The 22T wheels appear to bring thing in right where I want them, except that I can't actually attach them because the axle stubs are too short thanks to the huge thickness between the hex surface and the nut mounting surface.
Jim85IROC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.