Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated T5M Discussion >

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Like Tree96Likes

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Reply

Old 10-20-2016, 03:27 PM
  #3331  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Just picked one of these up, subscribing for future use.
rregl0612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 04:23 PM
  #3332  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by boucher View Post
I don't think I've seen anyone break a servo. Usually the bellcrank will break (or bend if you have the aluminum) before anything happens to the servo. What servo are you using? And maybe you should just use the stock plastic horn instead.
I am using an XP DS1313, the stock plastic horn snapped first run out. Switched to the aluminum with plastic insert and stripped the insert. Switched to aluminum only, no insert and broke the gears inside the servo. Fixed that and went back to the aluminum with plastic insert. The link that goes between the servo horn and steering rack was tight on the ball studs, associated sent me a new one that is looser on the ball studs and that helped for awhile, but now last weekend, another stripped out insert. I am at a complete loss...
skidooboy84 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:59 PM
  #3333  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 979
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skidooboy84 View Post
I am using an XP DS1313, the stock plastic horn snapped first run out. Switched to the aluminum with plastic insert and stripped the insert. Switched to aluminum only, no insert and broke the gears inside the servo. Fixed that and went back to the aluminum with plastic insert. The link that goes between the servo horn and steering rack was tight on the ball studs, associated sent me a new one that is looser on the ball studs and that helped for awhile, but now last weekend, another stripped out insert. I am at a complete loss...
Are your end points set correctly on your radio?
tsair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 03:52 AM
  #3334  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tsair View Post
Are your end points set correctly on your radio?
End points have been set, I just lowered them 10%, will let you know how I make out. Thanks.

Last edited by skidooboy84; 10-21-2016 at 05:02 AM.
skidooboy84 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 06:53 AM
  #3335  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
sduffy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: York, PA
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I'm surprised no one suggested "Stop hitting stuff"

I've been running an Xpert 4431 servo with an aluminum servo horn for the past year. Only issue I had was the Associated aluminum steering rack broke twice. I went back to plastic and have had no issues since.
sduffy77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 07:50 AM
  #3336  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skidooboy84 View Post
End points have been set, I just lowered them 10%, will let you know how I make out. Thanks.
Did you just lower them by that much or actually set them at the physical steering limits? I've run a few different servos and the endpoint have needed to be set different with each one.
Tbone17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 04:45 PM
  #3337  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
eper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new milford, CT.
Posts: 2,617
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

ive heard about a 3rd hole in the front arm i think is that true are people drilling a 3rd hole?
eper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 09:39 PM
  #3338  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by accucel View Post
Anyone experience wheel chatter with their T5m going through fast sweepers? My track has a wide radius, long sweeper with a few undulations, and I have observed the inner front wheel chattering back and forth.

The truck has glued trailing inserts, a high torque servo and good bearings, and my b5m is totally planted in the same corner. Is this a stadium truck thing, or something wrong with my setup?
I know this post is a bit out of date, but do you balance your wheels? You might see this kind of lifting as the imbalance pulls the tire off the ground? If you do balance check again. One thing off the list
rregl0612 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 07:58 PM
  #3339  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 36
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tbone17 View Post
Did you just lower them by that much or actually set them at the physical steering limits? I've run a few different servos and the endpoint have needed to be set different with each one.
Lowering them to that point put it just lower than the physical steering limits. I broke 2 plastic steering racks in the same spot both times prior to switching to an aluminum rack.
skidooboy84 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 09:32 PM
  #3340  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,255
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eper View Post
ive heard about a 3rd hole in the front arm i think is that true are people drilling a 3rd hole?
Yes I've been running this for well over a year. Smooths the steering out a ton!
aeRayls is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2016, 11:14 PM
  #3341  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aeRayls View Post
Yes I've been running this for well over a year. Smooths the steering out a ton!
Do you have a picture of where the hole is drilled or a link to a post about it?
sluther343 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 01:45 AM
  #3342  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Getting y truck today, Question i have is is there a Difference between the 4-gear or 3-gear trans as far as feel?? My b5m has the 3 gear but T5 manual shows 4-gear & i see some people use the 4 gear. ANy and All Opinions would help. Thanks
jabroni racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 03:14 AM
  #3343  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
eper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new milford, CT.
Posts: 2,617
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I'm running the 3 gear truck responds more to throttle and brake inputs. My truck is really good and I had a few guys who lined up to try it last night and everyone loved it so I'd say 3 gear. Our track has good medium traction so it does work without tons of traction
eper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 05:05 AM
  #3344  
Tech Master
iTrader: (37)
 
jabroni racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: largo florida
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, so the 3 gear trans bolts right in when you pull the 4 gear ??
2nd question, if i buy the 3 gear case what can i use form the 4 gear tranny??
jabroni racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2016, 06:20 AM
  #3345  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 290
Default

You'll need:

3 gear case #91607
3 gear motor plate #91603
3 gear gear cover #91604

Everything else you need comes from your 4 gear box.
boucher is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service