Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated T5M Discussion >

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Like Tree95Likes

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Reply

Old 09-30-2016, 09:37 AM
  #3301  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 188
Default

Hi guys, been searching with no luck. Question is, Has anyone successfully adapted a B6 laydown Trans to a T5m?? Thanks.
indybobb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 10:23 AM
  #3302  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 197
Default

Just use the one from shapeways, works great
blankenj99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 10:35 AM
  #3303  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 290
Default

B6 stuff doesn't bolt on to the 5 series. There are other ways to get a laydown transmission in your truck.
boucher is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 11:41 AM
  #3304  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 188
Default

Originally Posted by blankenj99 View Post
Just use the one from shapeways, works great
Just don't trust 3d printed ones, used the first Redworks on my b5m and it didn't last long, started skipping gears. Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
indybobb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 01:31 PM
  #3305  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 108
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by indybobb View Post
Just don't trust 3d printed ones, used the first Redworks on my b5m and it didn't last long, started skipping gears. Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
Been running the shapeways for a bit now with no issues. We actually have a few people running them at my local track. Not one issue thus far.
Juicebox315 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2016, 04:02 PM
  #3306  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by indybobb View Post
Got the WWHD after that and it was rock solid, but can't find another one anywhere.

Know it would not be a direct bolt on, but was just wondering if it was possible.
Well, considering it's half the price of the whole truck. I would hope it works well! :O
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2016, 08:11 PM
  #3307  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 8
Default

hey new to the t5m ran my first race with it i run in lose dirt i had the setup 26/78 in it as it suggested and it came off the track after 5 mins at 167 went down to a 24 and it still came off at 160 and i was getting passed like i was sitting still
twest32678 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2016, 06:51 PM
  #3308  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (527)
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,477
Trader Rating: 527 (100%+)
Default

What is a good loose track set up? Weather will be cool (probably air temp of 50-55), track will be hard packed. Tires are holeshot m4. Rear traction is at a premium. Have aluminum rear hubs, kashima shocks, schelle hangers and inserts for the rear suspension.
wrightcs77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2016, 06:32 PM
  #3309  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (527)
 
wrightcs77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 3,477
Trader Rating: 527 (100%+)
Default

Anyone with a good starting set up for a low traction, smooth to bumpy track?
wrightcs77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 09:43 PM
  #3310  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ogden,UT
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Just got back into ST and picked one of these up. Any of advice for add on's/ upgrades? And also any good setup advice for running on carpet? Thanks in advance.
RacingCraze21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 09:49 AM
  #3311  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
twindad98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Burlington, North Carolina
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Have any of you found that the new truck springs are too stiff for indoor medium bite clay? I raced Saturday and my truck was a handful. I just went back to the stock springs to see how it feels for this week.
twindad98 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2016, 11:36 AM
  #3312  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,248
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by twindad98 View Post
Have any of you found that the new truck springs are too stiff for indoor medium bite clay? I raced Saturday and my truck was a handful. I just went back to the stock springs to see how it feels for this week.
The regular springs always give a more comfortable feel. I have no trouble running the newer truck springs in any indoor track regardless of grip. The only time the don't feel good is in bumpy conditions, I can't run them outdoors.
aeRayls is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 08:09 AM
  #3313  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Default Can you use SC 2.2/3.0 tires on a T5M?

Hello,

I was at the RC store and the sales guy insisted that the SC 2.2/3.0 hole shots tires are the right wheel for the T5M. When I got home and compared them to the current tires on the truck they are obviously narrower and larger in diameter than the tires on the truck. The store is almost an hour away so returning them is unlikely.

Can I run SC tires on a T5M? What would the offset have to be as they are narrower than the stock tires?

Nate
nateb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 09:16 AM
  #3314  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 281
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You technically *could* run them but I would suspect the handling would be whacky to say the least.
daedalus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 04:15 PM
  #3315  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nateb View Post
Hello,

I was at the RC store and the sales guy insisted that the SC 2.2/3.0 hole shots tires are the right wheel for the T5M. When I got home and compared them to the current tires on the truck they are obviously narrower and larger in diameter than the tires on the truck. The store is almost an hour away so returning them is unlikely.

Can I run SC tires on a T5M? What would the offset have to be as they are narrower than the stock tires?

Nate
With enough dremel work, I'm sure you could make anything work. Those are the wrong wheels and tires. Without going in to the offset the problem you will have is the larger diameter will mess with your gearing. I recommend you take them back and don't ask that guy for anything anymore.
Chris Brown is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service