Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Team Associated T5M Discussion >

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Like Tree95Likes

Team Associated T5M Discussion

Reply

Old 05-26-2015, 01:52 PM
  #1801  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
HBRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
HBRob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 02:02 PM
  #1802  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (81)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,065
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HBRob View Post
Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
yeah, but it will be useless for most people. if you run on carpet it might be ok.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 06:16 PM
  #1803  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,188
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I finally got my CVA's that were NOT included in the kit. Installed them and the side where the locking T-nut goes the CVA won't go down, The T-nut is not flush. I've taken it apart and replaced it with a new screw and T-nut and still the same.

Any sugestions?

Thanks.
lidebt2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 06:24 PM
  #1804  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (81)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,065
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lidebt2 View Post
I finally got my CVA's that were NOT included in the kit. Installed them and the side where the locking T-nut goes the CVA won't go down, The T-nut is not flush. I've taken it apart and replaced it with a new screw and T-nut and still the same.

Any sugestions?

Thanks.
look at the diff building instructions closer.....you have the tnut on the wrong side...
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 07:07 PM
  #1805  
Tech Rookie
 
TinBasherJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 5
Talking

I love this truck, no track time yet, can't wait!
TinBasherJay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 09:33 PM
  #1806  
Tech Regular
 
VegasHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 471
Default

Originally Posted by HBRob View Post
Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
Pretty cool stuff. I would have figured a 3 gear low CG tranny would be better? If you're running on carpet or super high bite you don't really need to 4 gear anyway.
VegasHB is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 09:36 PM
  #1807  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (61)
 
HBRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VegasHB View Post
Pretty cool stuff. I would have figured a 3 gear low CG tranny would be better? If you're running on carpet or super high bite you don't really need to 4 gear anyway.
Thats what I was thinking too. Was planning on sending them a message to see if a 3 gear version is a possibility. Seems like if they have gone this far it would be a simple change.
HBRob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 04:38 PM
  #1808  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just tried to install my new aluminum steering arms. They came with two small washers. I cant seem to get them not to bind without feeling like they are too loose and will fall out. Any tips? I tried washer on top, washer on bottom and washers on both sides of the steering arms. Have not even hooked the rack part into the arms because of the binding issue. Am I just being paranoid or has anyone else seen this?
eleine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:00 PM
  #1809  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Gigasipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 375
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A couple of action shots of my truck during one of the mains. Love the truck, just about have it dialed. I am searching for a little more steering, but the balance is spot on.





The one in the air makes it look like my camber is way off, hmm.
Gigasipke is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:25 PM
  #1810  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,239
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eleine View Post
Just tried to install my new aluminum steering arms. They came with two small washers. I cant seem to get them not to bind without feeling like they are too loose and will fall out. Any tips? I tried washer on top, washer on bottom and washers on both sides of the steering arms. Have not even hooked the rack part into the arms because of the binding issue. Am I just being paranoid or has anyone else seen this?
The washers are crush tubes that go between the bearings on the plastic rack.
aeRayls is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:50 PM
  #1811  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aeRayls View Post
The washers are crush tubes that go between the bearings on the plastic rack.
Thanks for that, they didn't look thick enough to be crush tubes, I will go try it right away, hoping to have it all wrapped up tonight for racing Friday.
eleine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 04:41 AM
  #1812  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eleine View Post
Thanks for that, they didn't look thick enough to be crush tubes, I will go try it right away, hoping to have it all wrapped up tonight for racing Friday.
Got the steering all put back together. Just need to put the shocks back on now, thanks again for the help.
eleine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 12:27 PM
  #1813  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: livonia Mi
Posts: 4
Default

Ok I know this is a really dumb question. Could I put my traxxas vxl 3s system with the 3500kv motor in my t5m and not destroy it totally. Going to run it in a stock class when I get the money for esc and motor. I only run 2s with 60c
traxxaskiller82 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 07:54 PM
  #1814  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (99)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,790
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by traxxaskiller82 View Post
Ok I know this is a really dumb question. Could I put my traxxas vxl 3s system with the 3500kv motor in my t5m and not destroy it totally. Going to run it in a stock class when I get the money for esc and motor. I only run 2s with 60c
Not sure about your tracks rules but at our track that wouldn't be legal. You'd really want to run in novice with that system. You're not going to be very competitive in stock class.
thecman26 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 01:58 AM
  #1815  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: livonia Mi
Posts: 4
Default

Talked to a few friends and that 550 motor will strip Trans gears and brake dog bones everytime I pull the throttle. Any suggestions on a good 17.5 setup?
traxxaskiller82 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service