R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree37Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2015, 02:52 PM   #1801
Tech Fanatic
 
HBRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to HBRob
Default

Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
__________________
**Privateer** - Getting Out 11/12/16
TLR 22 3.0 | TLR 22T 2.0 | TLR 22-4
Fantom Racing | Hobbywing | Futaba
#ocrcarmy
HBRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 03:02 PM   #1802
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,995
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HBRob View Post
Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
yeah, but it will be useless for most people. if you run on carpet it might be ok.
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 07:16 PM   #1803
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I finally got my CVA's that were NOT included in the kit. Installed them and the side where the locking T-nut goes the CVA won't go down, The T-nut is not flush. I've taken it apart and replaced it with a new screw and T-nut and still the same.

Any sugestions?

Thanks.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 07:24 PM   #1804
Tech Prophet
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 16,995
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lidebt2 View Post
I finally got my CVA's that were NOT included in the kit. Installed them and the side where the locking T-nut goes the CVA won't go down, The T-nut is not flush. I've taken it apart and replaced it with a new screw and T-nut and still the same.

Any sugestions?

Thanks.
look at the diff building instructions closer.....you have the tnut on the wrong side...
__________________
Support: Team Associated | Reedy Motors & ESC's | Sanwa Radios | Avid | Proline Tires
Wildcat1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 08:07 PM   #1805
Tech Rookie
 
TinBasherJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 5
Talking

I love this truck, no track time yet, can't wait!
__________________
It was not a crash, It was a dynamic dissassembly.
TinBasherJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 10:33 PM   #1806
Tech Regular
 
VegasHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 462
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HBRob View Post
Anyone else notice the 4 gear low CG items on shapeways on my link?
Pretty cool stuff. I would have figured a 3 gear low CG tranny would be better? If you're running on carpet or super high bite you don't really need to 4 gear anyway.
__________________
Don't worry about saving pennies, worry about making dollars.
702rcraceway.com, sponsored by my wallet
VegasHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 10:36 PM   #1807
Tech Fanatic
 
HBRob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 847
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to HBRob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VegasHB View Post
Pretty cool stuff. I would have figured a 3 gear low CG tranny would be better? If you're running on carpet or super high bite you don't really need to 4 gear anyway.
Thats what I was thinking too. Was planning on sending them a message to see if a 3 gear version is a possibility. Seems like if they have gone this far it would be a simple change.
__________________
**Privateer** - Getting Out 11/12/16
TLR 22 3.0 | TLR 22T 2.0 | TLR 22-4
Fantom Racing | Hobbywing | Futaba
#ocrcarmy
HBRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:38 PM   #1808
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just tried to install my new aluminum steering arms. They came with two small washers. I cant seem to get them not to bind without feeling like they are too loose and will fall out. Any tips? I tried washer on top, washer on bottom and washers on both sides of the steering arms. Have not even hooked the rack part into the arms because of the binding issue. Am I just being paranoid or has anyone else seen this?
eleine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:00 PM   #1809
Tech Regular
 
Gigasipke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 365
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A couple of action shots of my truck during one of the mains. Love the truck, just about have it dialed. I am searching for a little more steering, but the balance is spot on.





The one in the air makes it look like my camber is way off, hmm.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~
-T5M (13.5), - B6D (17.5)
-Mad Dogz Hobby Team Driver
https://youtu.be/Rg4Jlid5dFo
Steve Aldous
Gigasipke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:25 PM   #1810
Tech Elite
 
aeRayls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,222
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eleine View Post
Just tried to install my new aluminum steering arms. They came with two small washers. I cant seem to get them not to bind without feeling like they are too loose and will fall out. Any tips? I tried washer on top, washer on bottom and washers on both sides of the steering arms. Have not even hooked the rack part into the arms because of the binding issue. Am I just being paranoid or has anyone else seen this?
The washers are crush tubes that go between the bearings on the plastic rack.
__________________
Team Associated~Reedy~LRP~XP Digital~JConcepts~92zero Designs~Big Horn Designs~


Go that way really fast... if something gets in your way... TURN!
aeRayls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 06:50 PM   #1811
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeRayls View Post
The washers are crush tubes that go between the bearings on the plastic rack.
Thanks for that, they didn't look thick enough to be crush tubes, I will go try it right away, hoping to have it all wrapped up tonight for racing Friday.
eleine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 05:41 AM   #1812
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lonsdale, MN
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eleine View Post
Thanks for that, they didn't look thick enough to be crush tubes, I will go try it right away, hoping to have it all wrapped up tonight for racing Friday.
Got the steering all put back together. Just need to put the shocks back on now, thanks again for the help.
eleine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 01:27 PM   #1813
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: livonia Mi
Posts: 4
Default

Ok I know this is a really dumb question. Could I put my traxxas vxl 3s system with the 3500kv motor in my t5m and not destroy it totally. Going to run it in a stock class when I get the money for esc and motor. I only run 2s with 60c
traxxaskiller82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2015, 08:54 PM   #1814
Tech Champion
 
thecman26's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 7,753
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by traxxaskiller82 View Post
Ok I know this is a really dumb question. Could I put my traxxas vxl 3s system with the 3500kv motor in my t5m and not destroy it totally. Going to run it in a stock class when I get the money for esc and motor. I only run 2s with 60c
Not sure about your tracks rules but at our track that wouldn't be legal. You'd really want to run in novice with that system. You're not going to be very competitive in stock class.
__________________
Chris Keen: Viola, Kansas
Kyosho RZ6, TLR 22 3.0, TLR 4.0 SR (soon),& 22T 3.0
"I'm too drunk to taste this chicken!", Col. Sanders
thecman26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2015, 02:58 AM   #1815
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: livonia Mi
Posts: 4
Default

Talked to a few friends and that 550 motor will strip Trans gears and brake dog bones everytime I pull the throttle. Any suggestions on a good 17.5 setup?
traxxaskiller82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net