R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2014, 11:52 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default I have no brakes, I have no reason why.

I could really use some help as I am out of ideas. I decided to have an SC10 for a larger outdoor track and to keep the SC10.2FT that I am building for our smaller indoor track.

For the SC10 I have scabbed together an ESC and motor I had laying around. The componets are the following:

ESC - www.speedpassion.net/reventon/reventonr.asp

Motor - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

Radio - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

So, here is what I have done:
Adjusted the End Point on the radio
Calibrated the ESC
"Programmed" the ESC via the program box that came with it

I cant seem to find anything that will actually lock up the tires. In my last race (as a last ditch effort) I turned up the drag brake just so my SC wouldn't parachute over jumps. Other than that I have no control of the truck in the air with the current components. Anyone have anything else I can try?
__________________
SC10 / DEX210
djhSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:01 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Some of these two pole motors just do not have lock the tires up kind of braking output to them.

On the other hand I have seen a brushless e-maxx endo itself from hard braking at speed on pavement.

I would of course suggest looking at the braking output on the ESC again though and to make sure the radio has endpoints/travel set to 100%.

Maybe the last time you were in the ESC the settings did not get saved somehow?
lbenton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:06 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Captcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, fl
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If I follow step by step how you said you set it up, I would say the issue is you adjusted your epa, before calibrating the radio.

ALWAYS calibrate your radio at 100/100 then adjust your epa AFTER the radio is calibrated.
__________________
Brandon Ryan
Public Relations, and Hype-Man
301 Raceway & Hobby
3404 NE 37 PL.
Wildwood, FL 34785
Captcha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:22 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captcha View Post
If I follow step by step how you said you set it up, I would say the issue is you adjusted your epa, before calibrating the radio.

ALWAYS calibrate your radio at 100/100 then adjust your epa AFTER the radio is calibrated.
I should have mentioned that those were in no particular order. In the past I have always reset the radio and started from scratch before programming the ESC. I will try again just to make sure I didn't miss something, but after two attempts of starting from scratch I don't think I did.......... I really wish I did.
__________________
SC10 / DEX210
djhSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:01 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 3,076
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Try increasing the reverse speed in the esc settings and see if it helps. I think default is 25%, try 100%. I've heard of some guys having this issue and not sure why but they said it helps.
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:09 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
Try increasing the reverse speed in the esc settings and see if it helps. I think default is 25%, try 100%. I've heard of some guys having this issue and not sure why but they said it helps.
I will check that out. Thanks for the info.
__________________
SC10 / DEX210
djhSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:37 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
__________________
Josh W.

Don't forget ... Have fun , talk sh*$ with your buddies, and have fun.

I race so I can have people flip my car over ....
wittyname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 02:40 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
This will be the first thing I do when I get home.
__________________
SC10 / DEX210
djhSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 06:09 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

over-gearing and crap motors do this also.
Tiburon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 12:14 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
Went home, updated the FW and it was GOLDEN!!!! Thank you for the help.
__________________
SC10 / DEX210
djhSPAWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net