Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
I have no brakes, I have no reason why. >

I have no brakes, I have no reason why.

I have no brakes, I have no reason why.

Reply

Old 02-13-2014, 10:52 AM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default I have no brakes, I have no reason why.

I could really use some help as I am out of ideas. I decided to have an SC10 for a larger outdoor track and to keep the SC10.2FT that I am building for our smaller indoor track.

For the SC10 I have scabbed together an ESC and motor I had laying around. The componets are the following:

ESC - www.speedpassion.net/reventon/reventonr.asp

Motor - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

Radio - http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store...arehouse_.html

So, here is what I have done:
Adjusted the End Point on the radio
Calibrated the ESC
"Programmed" the ESC via the program box that came with it

I cant seem to find anything that will actually lock up the tires. In my last race (as a last ditch effort) I turned up the drag brake just so my SC wouldn't parachute over jumps. Other than that I have no control of the truck in the air with the current components. Anyone have anything else I can try?
djhSPAWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:01 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Some of these two pole motors just do not have lock the tires up kind of braking output to them.

On the other hand I have seen a brushless e-maxx endo itself from hard braking at speed on pavement.

I would of course suggest looking at the braking output on the ESC again though and to make sure the radio has endpoints/travel set to 100%.

Maybe the last time you were in the ESC the settings did not get saved somehow?
lbenton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:06 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Captcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, fl
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If I follow step by step how you said you set it up, I would say the issue is you adjusted your epa, before calibrating the radio.

ALWAYS calibrate your radio at 100/100 then adjust your epa AFTER the radio is calibrated.
Captcha is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 11:22 AM
  #4  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by Captcha View Post
If I follow step by step how you said you set it up, I would say the issue is you adjusted your epa, before calibrating the radio.

ALWAYS calibrate your radio at 100/100 then adjust your epa AFTER the radio is calibrated.
I should have mentioned that those were in no particular order. In the past I have always reset the radio and started from scratch before programming the ESC. I will try again just to make sure I didn't miss something, but after two attempts of starting from scratch I don't think I did.......... I really wish I did.
djhSPAWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:01 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 3,083
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Try increasing the reverse speed in the esc settings and see if it helps. I think default is 25%, try 100%. I've heard of some guys having this issue and not sure why but they said it helps.
rcgod is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:09 PM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
Try increasing the reverse speed in the esc settings and see if it helps. I think default is 25%, try 100%. I've heard of some guys having this issue and not sure why but they said it helps.
I will check that out. Thanks for the info.
djhSPAWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 12:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,886
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
wittyname is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 01:40 PM
  #8  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
This will be the first thing I do when I get home.
djhSPAWN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 05:09 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Tiburon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

over-gearing and crap motors do this also.
Tiburon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 11:14 AM
  #10  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
djhSPAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by wittyname View Post
Some versions of the Reventon firmware had horribly soft brakes. I remember reading severel comments about this when I first got my Reventon. I dont recall which firmware in particular was the "horrible"one , but I would update the esc software before I went much further with this , making sure the latest firmware is installed.
Went home, updated the FW and it was GOLDEN!!!! Thank you for the help.
djhSPAWN is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service