V-spec Problems

Old 07-15-2005, 03:46 PM
Tech Rookie

Default V-spec Problems

I am new to nitro. Well sort of. I bought a XB8 in January and went all out and picked up a O.S V-spec. I jumped into nitro because well everyone here runs nitro. Well anyway I broke it in properly (Heat gun,half gallon of fuel with little or no full throttle action). I can't get this thing to run right. I actually quit trying in January after 2 weeks of problems. I was upset that it is this difficult to get this thing to run right. I decided to try again in the last couple of days and it's still the same. It's not tuning either I have tried everything as far as adjustments, and idle. I am running sidewinder 30% fuel I even thought I ended up with bad fuel so I bought another gallon. I bought a new gas tank thinking I had a pressure leak no. New fuel lines. Nope. New clutch still didn't get the the thing to run. The only way to get it to run is to leave the GP Ignitor on then it will run horribly but it will run. It has never sounded like the other cars at the track from the get go. I have never run more than 4 laps without a flame out. I tried new plugs still nothing. I am about to give up on it. I just don't want to drop cash for a new motor until I am sure this one is toast. I wish there was such a thing as a warrenty on these things. Any ideas?

What about a cheap motor that I can be competitive with, something that is under $200.
Old 07-15-2005, 05:01 PM
Tech Adept

firstly i hope u put after run oil after you quit in January.

secondly do you know the Standard Needle Settings? If i stuff up my tune, i always go back to standard settings, which should be a rich setting and then you can gradually lean out from there.

finally if you cant get it starter yourself, its best to take it to your nearest track, when there is a club day on. most people there would be able to help you out.

anyway here is my diagnosis from what you say...