R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 07-12-2005, 11:30 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Default center diff question

hey guys!! need a little help. what are the effects of having thicker oil in the center diff compared to having a lighter oil? thanks
Genius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2005, 02:08 PM   #2
Tech Adept

Thicker oil slows down the diff action. The thicker the oil, the more input power it takes to make each end spin at a different speed. In effect, the thicker the oil the closer you get to a solid center drive. The only time I've ever used really heavy oil (60 to 100K) was in a truggy to control unloading the driveline to the front wheels. Of course the trade off (there is always a tradeoff) is a loss of steering reaction, as the oil gets thicker push in corners gets worse.
fhm101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2005, 10:16 PM   #3
Tech Initiate

OK heres my question on this,

I am new to 1/8 buggys, just got a mayhem pro, according to the manual a lighter fluid in the diff will provide more front wheel drive action, and a heavier fluid will give more rear power.

I have been having an issue with the rear of my buggy being loose in the rear end when accelerating out of a turn.

will a heavier center diff fluid help keep the rear of the buggy from unloading comming out of a 90 degree corner and getting loose.

I have been playing with the suspention setup and feel i almost have this thing dialed in, im currently running 7k-F, 3k-C, 1k-R and it still slides a little too much for my liking, it is not uncontrollable but i need to tighten it up a bit.

Center diff fluid only question here.
Thanks
ETRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 06:41 AM   #4
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)

You are too thick in the front diff and too thin in the center diff. I woud change to 5kf, 5kc, 2-3kr. Maybe go to 7k in the center if you want a more aggressive feel during accerleration.