Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Capacitor quality >

Capacitor quality

Capacitor quality

Old 12-07-2013, 08:34 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default Capacitor quality

I popped a cap on my RS Pro and I'm going to solder up a new one and hope it's ok (fingers crossed!!) The hobby shop didn't have any Tekin capacitors, so I looked on amain and a 2 pack of the 16v 1000uF is $6.39. Well I searched on ebay and I can get like 20 of those for about the same price or cheaper. Is there any quality concerns? The rest of the specs seem to be the same.
vw addict is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 09:53 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,570
Default

Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
I popped a cap on my RS Pro and I'm going to solder up a new one and hope it's ok (fingers crossed!!) The hobby shop didn't have any Tekin capacitors, so I looked on amain and a 2 pack of the 16v 1000uF is $6.39. Well I searched on ebay and I can get like 20 of those for about the same price or cheaper. Is there any quality concerns? The rest of the specs seem to be the same.
Probably not, but keep an eye on it.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 09:58 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,779
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Well there are a couple of sellers that have pictures and the caps look identical to the pics of the ones on amain. I'm thinking they come from the same manufacturer..... I mean Tekin isn't making them just sourcing them.
vw addict is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 10:03 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kaohsiung City, Taiwan
Posts: 1,570
Default

Originally Posted by vw addict View Post
Well there are a couple of sellers that have pictures and the caps look identical to the pics of the ones on amain. I'm thinking they come from the same manufacturer..... I mean Tekin isn't making them just sourcing them.
Right, so you *should* be fine.
JiuHaWong is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 02:24 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

there isn't anything special about the caps used in rc. Those will be fine.
After all, it's not like they're black gate audiophile caps...
silvalis is offline  
Old 12-07-2013, 04:07 PM
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 28
Default

badcapsdotnet A little time on that forum should let everyone know how important caps are to glitch free operation of the electronics of the car. I run a bank of four capacitors on the esc, and a glitchbuster on the receiver.
Art_VanDelay is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.