Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Traxxas Slash 4X4 vs Losi Ten SCTE for Bashing/Racing

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2013, 06:16 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Traxxas Slash 4X4 vs Losi Ten SCTE for Bashing/Racing

I'm relatively new to the world of RC and recently purchased a Traxxas Slash 4X4 for my six year old. We have been having a lot of fun with it and, he wants to start racing at a local indoor dirt track. I'm looking to get another car and debating what to purchase. We live across the street from a park and bash with the Slash on most days while going to the track once a week. So far he hasn't raced yet – just open practice at the track. Thinking about getting either another Slash or the Losi SCTE. I guess I'm wondering if the Losi will hold up ok to the bashing in the park. Regarding the bashing in the park . . . it primarily involves donuts and drifting on the baseball diamonds which are covered with loose dirt and bits of gravel, racing over dirt and grass plus a little bit of jumping on the berms that surround the soccer fields. Thanks for any input.

James
Old 11-15-2013, 09:36 AM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)

maintenance wise it'd be a lot easier to have 2 of the same truck.
Old 11-15-2013, 01:45 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I agree with core but the scte is by far the best sc truck I have had as far as bashing goes upgrade the chassis braces so you have little to no chassis flex and you'll be good to go at the track or clearing 40 footers like mine:-P and still be able to throw down on Saturday at the track.
Old 11-15-2013, 02:07 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I recommend the same truck as well. We too, just got started and each family member has a Traxxas. The swappable parts are very convenient.
Old 11-15-2013, 03:02 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

Get a SCTE for yourself and then pick up the SCTE 1.0 roller from Stormer for $198 and sell the Slash as a roller to offset the cost. Win win