Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Schumacher Cougar KF!!! >

Schumacher Cougar KF!!!

Schumacher Cougar KF!!!

Old 02-06-2015, 07:16 PM
  #1306  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Spikesef View Post
Yeah What Tony said! Also You might try turning your steering speed down on your radio. My experience has been that with todays servos being so fast, it does not allow the tires to grip in a consistent manner. It is possible you are putting so much "wheel" into the car entering the corner, the fronts are actually pushing slightly until you get back in the throttle. The throttle causes the chassis to rotate and thereby becomes loose. I may be up in the night on this, but it is very easy to overlook this minor adjustment. Slower steering also makes it easier to diagnose the problem. Plus if you don't like it, you can always just turn the speed back up.

i can not adjust servo speed on my radio. just expo

on another note i bought some schumacher yellow mini pins tonight for the rear.
twisted is offline  
Old 02-09-2015, 02:52 PM
  #1307  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

well the changes i made gave me all the grip i needed. there was down to a c main in mod buggy and i finished 4th in the A i believe.
twisted is offline  
Old 02-09-2015, 03:31 PM
  #1308  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
joeymdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oreogan
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by twisted View Post
well the changes i made gave me all the grip i needed. there was down to a c main in mod buggy and i finished 4th in the A i believe.

we are all curious what changes did you make? hopefully it continues for next week!

but good job putting it in the show
joeymdz is offline  
Old 02-09-2015, 05:54 PM
  #1309  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by joeymdz View Post
we are all curious what changes did you make? hopefully it continues for next week!

but good job putting it in the show
Thanks!

i went to the max length on the rear camber link,went to .5* of anti squat,took a 1mm washer out from under the rear ball stud,went to med length for front camber and new tires,schumacher yellow mini spikes.

beginning of the day the car was hooked up. by the time the mains came around and a grooved was formed the traction dissipated a little. the car was still good but it did step out a little. very drivable.
twisted is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:10 PM
  #1310  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Tony and Joey, are you guys stepping up to the KF2?
twisted is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:33 PM
  #1311  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
joeymdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oreogan
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by twisted View Post
Tony and Joey, are you guys stepping up to the KF2?
Ya I got mine over a week ago. It's a heavy mofo but love the new upgrades. Carbon chassis is coming in soon so that should cut some of the serious weight off.

Still playing with different setups to get it better than my kf

Last edited by joeymdz; 02-15-2015 at 05:12 PM.
joeymdz is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:39 PM
  #1312  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (53)
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,932
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Mines together too. This weekend will be my first chance to run it
Tony Newland is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 03:56 PM
  #1313  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

Steering rack is fixed on my KF2 . Should have a full practice/tune day tomorrow.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 07:37 PM
  #1314  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,207
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

now iom gonna have to start paying attention to the kf2 board.
twisted is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 08:47 PM
  #1315  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (164)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,538
Trader Rating: 164 (100%+)
Default

8 hour marathon tuning day. Should get it dialed in with that much time.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 02-17-2015, 08:13 AM
  #1316  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default 4 Sale

I've got a fully loaded KF for sale

edit.....SOLD

Last edited by hacker; 02-19-2015 at 09:31 PM.
hacker is offline  
Old 02-19-2015, 08:36 PM
  #1317  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 425
Default

Looking in the manual it says to adjust the belt tension, but for the life of me I can't seem to find what the correct tension is for the belt. I know how to adjust the tension, I just don't know what the correct tension is.
Riverbluff is offline  
Old 02-19-2015, 08:41 PM
  #1318  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
joeymdz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oreogan
Posts: 2,993
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Riverbluff View Post
Looking in the manual it says to adjust the belt tension, but for the life of me I can't seem to find what the correct tension is for the belt. I know how to adjust the tension, I just don't know what the correct tension is.
There is no "precise" measurement for belts... no 2 cars are a like. Rule of thumb is running it as loose as possible without it slipping. It's a trial by error thing but a simple one
joeymdz is offline  
Old 02-20-2015, 05:14 AM
  #1319  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
GearHd6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 271
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Riverbluff View Post
Looking in the manual it says to adjust the belt tension, but for the life of me I can't seem to find what the correct tension is for the belt. I know how to adjust the tension, I just don't know what the correct tension is.
I was wondering the same thing. I picked up a used one that came with the manual. As I was going through the car I wanted to check the belt tension so I checked the manual. It states to leave the adjuster loose for now. Then nowhere in the rest of the manual does it tell you when or how to adjust it.
GearHd6 is offline  
Old 02-20-2015, 05:22 AM
  #1320  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southampton
Posts: 497
Default

As has already been said it's a bit of a trial and error thing, but for a starting point you could try my method.
With a thumb and forefinger try and rotate the belt round ninety degrees midway along the top belt run, you should be able to do this without much force but this should be harder to rotate past the ninety degrees. You don't need much force at all to rotate it if the tension is correct.
Badger5 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.