Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Thinking about a Tekin >

Thinking about a Tekin

Thinking about a Tekin

Old 08-22-2013, 09:23 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
 
XRated SCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SanDiego
Posts: 1,065
Default

Originally Posted by Hoese37 View Post
I love the Pro4 4600, its what I run in my SCT410. HD is overkill.
yes the pro4 hd is overkill for my track especially, I've seen some guys at my track running the hd and its ridiculous! If not tamed down unless you have very good throttle control, if I bashed more then raced I'd def. pick up the hd
XRated SCT is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 03:50 AM
  #17  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: sw ohio
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jpk4ud View Post
I have a Losi SCTE and am thinking about changing motors and maybe even esc's. I have been looking at the Tekins but can't make up my mind about which one looks like the best one. Between the SC4X, Pro4 or the Pro4HD what is everyone running?
castle sct 3800.... right amount of power for me....although i do have a tekin nib,just in case
bpalmer is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 11:12 AM
  #18  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
wittyname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hampton Roads
Posts: 1,884
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The 4600kv pro 4 is where its at if you insist on Tekin. I ran the 4000 kv and it was too slow at my track. Couldnt keep the nose up in the air either . Truck (scte) weighed 6.11oz. Same truck with 4600 and I couldnt be happier. The guys running the HD at my track have to run some large MAh packs to make 10 minutes. If you go the Pro 4 route , the right esc is a integral part of the equation to get the performance out of the motor you will be looking for.
wittyname is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 07:38 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (54)
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,009
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by T. Herwig View Post
For your needs, the Pro 4 4600 may be the best bet. Plus, if you ever decide to get into any racing that is ROAR related, you will already be covered.

Pair it with an RX8 Gen 2, run the current limiter at 75-85 range, NO timing, and gear it 14/40. This will be a good all-around starting point.
You don't need anymore info then this.
portyansky is offline  
Old 08-23-2013, 08:35 PM
  #20  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (111)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 8,215
Trader Rating: 111 (100%+)
Default

Can't go wrong with an RX8 and a Pro4 motor!
I ran a 4000 Pro4 in my SCTE and I thought it was amazing! But if you run on big tracks, go ahead and get the 4600!
thecman26 is offline  
Old 08-24-2013, 07:39 PM
  #21  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
jpk4ud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 220
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

A guy at our track has the rx8 esc and the pro4 hd 4300 and it is crazy fast. I may just lean that way. The track is adding 30' more to the straight so some speed maybe needed.
jpk4ud is offline  
Old 08-24-2013, 11:36 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The 4300 isnt faster than the 4600, both top out about the same when geared right. The HD just has an explosive bottom end.
Hoese37 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.