Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread >

TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread

Like Tree1Likes

TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread

Old 12-02-2014, 02:06 PM
  #9916  
Tech Adept
 
onadcr74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 194
Default

Hey guys, I FINALLY got my 1.0 converted completely to the 2.0 in mid motor config last night with the -2.5 chassis. I couldn't stop looking at it, lol! Anyway, the one thing that I noticed was that I thought that the servo was supposed to lay flat in the milled out part. It seems to sit lower but there is maybe a mill to a mill and a half of space between the bottom of the servo to the chassis. Are the servo mounts different from the 1.0 to the 2.0?
onadcr74 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 03:04 PM
  #9917  
Tech Master
 
skeasor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 1,089
Default

Originally Posted by easy e
I went with a shorter screw to use in the underside of chassis to mount the tranny, not sure what size, long enough but shorter .. haven't had any problems

and for the rear shock mounts in the a-arm I used a 3mm cap head screw, uses a 2.5mm hex wrench
Yea, I'm running a cap head screw there too now. I haven't had a problem since.
skeasor is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 03:46 PM
  #9918  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (166)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vancouver, Washington
Posts: 4,595
Trader Rating: 166 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by onadcr74
Hey guys, I FINALLY got my 1.0 converted completely to the 2.0 in mid motor config last night with the -2.5 chassis. I couldn't stop looking at it, lol! Anyway, the one thing that I noticed was that I thought that the servo was supposed to lay flat in the milled out part. It seems to sit lower but there is maybe a mill to a mill and a half of space between the bottom of the servo to the chassis. Are the servo mounts different from the 1.0 to the 2.0?
No.
jpcopeland1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 04:55 PM
  #9919  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

what front springs are you guys using for high bite indoor clay in MM? Seems Dakota and Ryan are using kyosho gold. I have some heavier AE springs and Avid purple fronts I can use.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 05:49 PM
  #9920  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 192
Default

I'm gonna try my AE yellow springs just about the same spring rate as the kyosho gold. Let you know they work on thursday.
racer888 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 06:13 PM
  #9921  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,388
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

yeah, the avids are about 3.65. might try them but, that seems soooo stiff and I might want less spring rate because I am running 17.5 and no added weight
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 06:57 PM
  #9922  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
Jake S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erie PA
Posts: 4,833
Trader Rating: 67 (93%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
yeah, the avids are about 3.65. might try them but, that seems soooo stiff and I might want less spring rate because I am running 17.5 and no added weight
if you have avid red fronts, they work really well, and are alot closer to the kyosho gold buggy front. if not an ae gray is pretty close too.
Jake S is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 07:19 PM
  #9923  
Tech Adept
 
onadcr74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 194
Default

Originally Posted by jpcopeland1
No.
OK, great! Is the servo supposed to be suspended a bit above the chassis or should it fit flat down inside the milled part?
onadcr74 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 07:36 PM
  #9924  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (36)
 
Jerm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The 405
Posts: 3,251
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by onadcr74
OK, great! Is the servo supposed to be suspended a bit above the chassis or should it fit flat down inside the milled part?
Flat.

Do you have anything under the servo like double sided tape, or did the mounting screws cause it so shift a bit?

I was messing around one day and took the side pods off and there was a little space between the mount/brace and the chassis. Took me a minute to realize there was a piece on the side pods that slips between the chassis and brace. You do have the side pods on correct??
Jerm13 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 08:23 PM
  #9925  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 92
Default 22.2.0 mid motor

I will be runing car on carpet with gear diff.what fluid should I start with.thanks.
FLYINGBRIAN is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 08:28 PM
  #9926  
Tech Adept
 
onadcr74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 194
Default

Originally Posted by Jerm13
Flat.

Do you have anything under the servo like double sided tape, or did the mounting screws cause it so shift a bit?

I was messing around one day and took the side pods off and there was a little space between the mount/brace and the chassis. Took me a minute to realize there was a piece on the side pods that slips between the chassis and brace. You do have the side pods on correct??
Lol, yes, I do have the side pods on! No, I don't have any servo tape under it. I'll have to check it over again. I very well coulda made a mistake somewhwere. I was excited and in a hurry to get everything mounted up to the new chassis and get it in mid motor configuration. I've been wanting to get it to this point for soooo long, it is so bad ass just sitting there, lol! Hey thanks for taking the time!
onadcr74 is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 08:46 PM
  #9927  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: South dakota
Posts: 276
Default

Originally Posted by FLYINGBRIAN
I will be runing car on carpet with gear diff.what fluid should I start with.thanks.
I run a gear diff on carpet and I've settled on 5k. 7k I don't get the rotation I like and 3k made my car kinda squirlly on power coming out of corners. Also if your track allow pinpoints use them they are the only tire to use trust me.
Sodakota is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:00 PM
  #9928  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
what front springs are you guys using for high bite indoor clay in MM? Seems Dakota and Ryan are using kyosho gold. I have some heavier AE springs and Avid purple fronts I can use.
I found golds to make the front hyper sensitive at SRS. Use what feels best for you im at silver fronts on mine but still testing.
Gitsum is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:17 PM
  #9929  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
RedBMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

What is the recommended spacing for Xpert servos. I'm moving to the TLR bell cracks from the Exotek ones and want to get optimal spacing for the shorter chassis.

BTW, I have the pics for my mm shorty setup using stack parts, but I haven't been able to get to my pc to convert and upload them.
RedBMaster is offline  
Old 12-02-2014, 09:40 PM
  #9930  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 471
Default

Originally Posted by RedBMaster
What is the recommended spacing for Xpert servos. I'm moving to the TLR bell cracks from the Exotek ones and want to get optimal spacing for the shorter chassis.

BTW, I have the pics for my mm shorty setup using stack parts, but I haven't been able to get to my pc to convert and upload them.
(P.s. use all the parts) in the bell crank kit unlike me!!!!!!lol
No wonder the rear motor buggy was a hand full the last time I was at thunder!!!! Lol
S.TRIPP77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.