Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread >

TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread

Like Tree1Likes

TLR 22 2.0 Race Kit: 1/10 2WD Buggy thread

Old 09-03-2013, 10:39 AM
  #916  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,248
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

You can buy direct from Horizon
Brian L is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 10:44 AM
  #917  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,387
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jokermayhem
Which Protek would you recommend ?
One of these 2 for buggy.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...o-High-Voltage


or

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...age-Metal-Case
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:04 AM
  #918  
TLRacing
Thread Starter
iTrader: (25)
 
Frank Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,808
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Johnn27
I ordered my kit from A Main hobbies after watching the infomercial attached
to the product page. On there this car was "promised" to ship by mid september then the availability date changed to 11/06 how is it that I have to wait 2 extra months to get a kit because I pre-ordered it from A-main hobbies?
I subsequently cancelled my pre-order due to the availability date change.

Any Answers Losi?
Buggies started shipping last Friday. The date changes must have been a slight dating error from A-main.

Originally Posted by Jokermayhem
I'm wanting more opinions on a servo for this buggy... I used to run an XP 1015 on my TLR 22 SCT ....what do you guys think would be the fasted with right amount of torque for this buggy?
I prefer the Spektrum S6040. Works great, and is bulletproof.

Originally Posted by ryanpatrickgore
Can you order direct from horizon? Or do they just supply dealers?
Horizon sells direct as well, http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...buggy-TLR03002
Frank Root is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:04 AM
  #919  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (11)
 
JBrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 127
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Let the fun begin.

JBrad is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:07 AM
  #920  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,387
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

horizon shows in stock. I would think all of the preorders are shipping.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:20 AM
  #921  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Jokermayhem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Buffalo, New York
Posts: 259
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Frank....
Jokermayhem is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:28 AM
  #922  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
weavty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ATL.GA.USA
Posts: 2,121
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
horizon shows in stock. I would think all of the preorders are shipping.
I wouldn't necessarily go by that.. I just had a long discussion with the gal that handles all of the backorder stuff for the sales dept at Horizon, and she said that they can't always go by what their website says is in stock, and what's not.

For instance, she said that they don't show any current stock for TLR03002 (22 2.0 kit) in their CRM/inventory software, but as you've stated, the Horizon site shows it's "in stock" lol

I only know this because I just called them to confirm that mine is on the way, because of a small launch day glitch that showed my order as cancelled, but I had already pre-ordered and had my card charged.. lol, coming to find out, it was processed correctly, and for some reason, their automatic e-mail notification script didn't generate one for my order.. lol

Guess I was the crash test dummy for their sales system And they passed



weavty1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:31 AM
  #923  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,387
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

nice, so you get the car this week?
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:32 AM
  #924  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
weavty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ATL.GA.USA
Posts: 2,121
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

And ps, I wouldn't suggest ProTek servos... lol, I'd go for Futaba, Hitec, KO, or Spektrum.

That is all
weavty1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:40 AM
  #925  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (84)
 
Wildcat1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 17,387
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

do tell as to why? I believe they are made by radio post and supported by Amain for warranty. I have read that Futaba ge the shakes after a while and I have never seen a spekrum product that didnt cause issues. Hitec are decent, but their specs are kinda slow and not really all that good. I never ran KO, so I have no opinion.
Wildcat1971 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:48 AM
  #926  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
weavty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ATL.GA.USA
Posts: 2,121
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
nice, so you get the car this week?
Both my 8IGHT-E 3.0 and 22 2.0 come tomorrow, and I race both Thursday-Sunday at the Clash...

If that isn't a proper shakedown of two new cars, I dunno what is!!
weavty1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 12:04 PM
  #927  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Captcha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, fl
Posts: 1,565
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
do tell as to why? I believe they are made by radio post and supported by Amain for warranty. I have read that Futaba ge the shakes after a while and I have never seen a spekrum product that didnt cause issues. Hitec are decent, but their specs are kinda slow and not really all that good. I never ran KO, so I have no opinion.
I have ventured away from Hitec servos ONCE, and I watched my MBX6 go full lock right and full wot. Servos used are a bargain brand servo that people on here love.

If you go based off just the specs then you will forever be buying brand new stuff. I will give up a little speed or torque for a product I know will last.

FWIW my hitec servo is .08 @ 6v and 144tq @ 6v. PLENTY for any 1/10 buggy.

Back on topic, do we know when the parts will be coming available at online and store hobby shops?
Captcha is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 12:17 PM
  #928  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
weavty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ATL.GA.USA
Posts: 2,121
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
do tell as to why? I believe they are made by radio post and supported by Amain for warranty. I have read that Futaba ge the shakes after a while and I have never seen a spekrum product that didnt cause issues. Hitec are decent, but their specs are kinda slow and not really all that good. I never ran KO, so I have no opinion.
I'm now 3 for 3 with ProTek servos taking a shit on me during an important race. Call it a stigma or what have you, but the only other servo I had fail on me, was a Futaba S.Bus servo, and it only failed because it was a last resort servo I had laying around, and wasn't anywhere near the proper servo for the application on a 4wd SCT. lol, but I had no choice but to use it at a race.. haha.

Everything else I've been running, servo-wise has been dialed without any hiccups, but having two ProTek's fail on me in the same race weekend, and another failed out of the box, that's pathetic. And the three ProTek's are going straight back to A Main, and either I'm getting new replacements and selling them, or I'm getting store credit.. Because IMO, they're not worth the trouble or near back-to-back DNF's, at a $75 per entry, event.


weavty1 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 12:28 PM
  #929  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (49)
 
bergie33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 567
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by weavty1
Both my 8IGHT-E 3.0 and 22 2.0 come tomorrow, and I race both Thursday-Sunday at the Clash...

If that isn't a proper shakedown of two new cars, I dunno what is!!
You, my friend, are going to have a late night.
bergie33 is offline  
Old 09-03-2013, 12:31 PM
  #930  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (49)
 
bergie33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 567
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wildcat1971
do tell as to why? I believe they are made by radio post and supported by Amain for warranty. I have read that Futaba ge the shakes after a while and I have never seen a spekrum product that didnt cause issues. Hitec are decent, but their specs are kinda slow and not really all that good. I never ran KO, so I have no opinion.
I love my Spektrum servos. They are power hogs, but are fast and durable. They are made by Savox.
bergie33 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.