Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Neu Castle 1410 3800 for Losi >

Neu Castle 1410 3800 for Losi

Neu Castle 1410 3800 for Losi

Reply

Old 07-25-2013, 10:14 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Neu Castle 1410 3800 for Losi

Okay I created a post earlier but it got led in the wrong direction but helpful to say the least.

Tomorrow morning I am picking up a Neu Castle 1410 3800kv to put into my Losi Ten SCTE (4x4). I will be racing it (first ever race and today was my first ever practice lol) on Saturday on an Outdoor Clay Short Course Track. It has one straight away that might be 75'-100' in length and then many short lanes about 25-30' in length. The track is probably 50' by 75ish' maybe a little longer.
Give me some set ups for the Losi please. I also need a set up for a AE SC10 4x4 with a Revtec 17.5T. Both have MMP for esc's.
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:17 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I will be running them with 2s 40-70c batteries
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
84 GT 5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno California
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

your running a 17.5 in a sc10 4X4 ?

as for the losi run it in blinky mode on esc take some punch out like 30ish% and like 13 pinion
84 GT 5.0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:30 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 84 GT 5.0 View Post
your running a 17.5 in a sc10 4X4 ?

as for the losi run it in blinky mode on esc take some punch out like 30ish% and like 13 pinion
The 17.5 is only a 3000kv.

I do not have the castle link as of now so I will not be able to do Blinky mode (at least from what I understand)

Thanks for the reply
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 10:53 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Vegatron75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,033
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

doesn't matter what the kv is on the revtech, the problem is it's a motor for 1/10 scale stuff, like buggys and stadium trucks.

You need something like the 3800 for the sc10.
Vegatron75 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 11:04 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vegatron75 View Post
doesn't matter what the kv is on the revtech, the problem is it's a motor for 1/10 scale stuff, like buggys and stadium trucks.

You need something like the 3800 for the sc10.

I bought that motor today because there are TONS on posts about that motor on the sc10. I also have a losi 4 pole 550 2800kv I can put into it or leave the Velineon 3500kv in it. Will test at the track before the race on Saturday.
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 11:12 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jayman69 View Post

I do not have the castle link as of now so I will not be able to do Blinky mode (at least from what I understand)
You can do blinky mode without a castle link. Blinky mode is no timing advance from the esc. You can program the MMP with the transmitter. You use the throttle trigger. How to do it is explained in the owners manual. If you don't have one you can download one off the internet. You can program drag brake, punch, timing, brushless vs brushed, etc.
It's easy after the first time. Just follow the directions.
Rufus2010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2013, 11:25 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jayman69 View Post
I bought that motor today because there are TONS on posts about that motor on the sc10. I also have a losi 4 pole 550 2800kv I can put into it or leave the Velineon 3500kv in it. Will test at the track before the race on Saturday.
You made a fundamental mistake. The posts about the 17.5 and the SC10 were about the SC10 that is NOT 4 wheel drive. People call that the SC10. The 4 wheel drive one is called the SC10 4x4. There is a big difference between the two. If you have the SC10 4x4, leave the Velineon motor in it for now. Try it out, it may be just right for you. The Losi 550 2800 (which I assume came out of the SCTE) is more powerful, but will reguire a taller pinion gear to get the best out of it.

Edit: You should really post these questions on the SCTE and SC10 4x4 threads.
Rufus2010 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 05:36 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I went through the programming on both of the esc's yesterday. I thought to do the BLinky it had to go through a different set up. Maybe I have it in Blinky mode ??? As for the sc10 4x4 with the 17t that is what I am speaking about, there are even videos of the 4x4 sc10 and the 17t. I will leave the velineon in it then, just was worried about it getting too hot during the race. If not I will try to the Losi in it and try going higher on the gear. So both of the motors I was sold from this site were wrong then..... I specifically asked about them working for these trucks several time when purchasing via the thread for sale as well as in PM's. Guess my ignorance cost me $$$ Never the less, they can always be sold!
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:53 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I was able to buy a brand new 1410 3800kv today for $65 and then a used one for $30. So now both the Losi and Sc10 will be Castle Powered.
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 10:34 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (25)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 787
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

The castle 3800 will probably struggle a bit in the losi especially if its stock with no lightening mods and not maintained so the driveline is tight. Also I would look into the 5mm shaft rotor for this one. I have seen quite a few of the 1/8" ones snap in SCTEs.

The sc10 4x4 it would be pretty good. Could you post a link to the videos that had a 17.5 revtech? Its got to be awefully slow.

The KV rating is deceiving because that doesnt take into account rotor size or turns. The Revtech 17.5 might be 3000kv but the rotor is only 12.5mm. The Castle is a 1y with something like an 18mm rotor(not exactly sure), thus it produces much more torque while spinning close to the same RPMS.
KainK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 10:37 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Just tested them both with the castles in them. The SC10 seems about on par with the castle and Velineon with same gearing. The Losi is SLOWER with the Castle vs the Velineon again same exact gearing. It does have more punch off the line however but then quickly seems to fall on it's face. Gearing is 13/40
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 10:39 AM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Will do some toying around with it tomorrow on the track to see if it likes a 14t however Castle only recommends 13/40 as being the highest gearing. Will buy the 14t and check heat. I do have a heat shield and fan already running on it. Today playing on concrete (to wet in the grass) it only got to 104F
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:16 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
MonsterSummit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 260
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Put a 16t pinion in the losi with the 3800. It will not be slow and temps should be fine. Thats exactly what I ran when I first got a SCTE. Since it is a lower Kv motor you need a bigger pinion. A 13-14t pinion would be perfect for a 4600ishKv motor.
MonsterSummit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:21 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 215
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

For giggles I put the stock Losi Pinion gear on it (18t I beleive). On hard concrete the temps reached a high of 148F and a top speed measured at 34MPH. It has slicks on it and was breaking them loose most of the time.
jayman69 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service