Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Castle MMP 1415 2400kv 3s or 4s - SCTE ? >

Castle MMP 1415 2400kv 3s or 4s - SCTE ?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Castle MMP 1415 2400kv 3s or 4s - SCTE ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2013, 09:47 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Castle MMP 1415 2400kv 3s or 4s - SCTE ?

Gents,

My basic question is... Will 3s or 4s provide longer run time when puttering around the yard in the grass? - Assuming the same net electrical potential from the two batteries (i.e. 3s at 4000mah / 4s at 3000mah ).

I am relatively new to RC, and recently purchased a Losi TEN SCTE. The previous owner used 2s batteries, and they were puffy. I managed to reconfigure the MMP slightly and experienced good success (I think) with 2 x series 2s batteries (4s total). This worked well and I am seeking a long term solution. I don't care if it's ROAR approved.

Related thoughts:

On 4s I have experimented with different pinion gears 20, 16, 13, and think I prefer the 13 in the grass. The 16 is faster on pavement, but I prefer to remain in the grass.

The Casle link for the MMP is terrific . When running 4s I set the forward power to 75% and the punch control to 80%. This keeps traction under control and I haven't broke anything - yet . I am very pleased in this regard. Using these settings, my 4s battery probably performs like a 3s.

After puttering around the yard, motors temps are perhaps 120-130 degrees F. The batteries are barely warm. The Castle ESC doesn't even feel warm - even when the fan gets stuffed with grass. Run time on 4s 4300mah is 22-25 minutes.

I think the 4s setup should push more volts and less amps than a 3s in the same environment provided proper gearing. Therefore, the 4s should run cooler - right?

The top speed in the grass using 13 tooth pinion is perhaps 20mph and this is perfectly fine. On pavement using a 16 tooth pinion, the truck is extremely fast - IMO - even with the MMP limiting.