Favorites?

Old 05-07-2013, 01:59 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Favorites?

I am somewhat new to the RC mania and I am wondering how do many of you guys choose which RC vehicle you want to buy? When I walk into my local RC shop, I see nothing but Losi and Team Associated all over the shelves and walls. It seems to be a common thing because I see the same stuff on other shelves and walls in my area. When i read up on race reports from my area, I see a lot of Team Associated and Losi running 1st, 2nd, 3rd in the races.

I have a Losi XXX-SCB because I took an interest in a buggy and my shop sold me this one for $169 because they were due to be discontinued. After having fun with my SCB, I realized how much I wanted to buy an SCT and look into racing. I like how parts are easily obtained for Team Associated and I am leaning towards their SCT's for my 2nd RC.

Are there any factors you guys consider when you choose which brand you want to go with? Like customer service, parts availability, RC pro's driving them, etc. Are there any factors for considering HPI or any other brand out there? This is open to buggies and SCT's seeing all brands sell some type of buggy, SCT, or SCB.
Old 05-07-2013, 09:21 PM
Suspended

Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)

Mostly parts availability
Old 05-07-2013, 09:47 PM
Tech Regular

Parts support is #1. Not necessarily local.
User community is #2, again not necessarily local.

Traxxas is headquartered nearby. Xray's USA distributor is in Dallas also. Both brands have a strong local following with local parts availabilty being very good. But I didn't seriously consider either brand and not because I think their products are not good.
Old 05-08-2013, 12:52 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

* Parts Support (not just local)
* Durability
* Customer Service (not so much for vehicles)
* Aftermarket Support (depending on if you want something different)
* Popularity/Cummunity (compare and discuss tips with other owners)