Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Transponder Mounting >

Transponder Mounting

Transponder Mounting

Old 04-04-2013, 10:10 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
austinspeer810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan "810"
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Transponder Mounting

Where do people mount their transponders? I see people putting them on top of their servo but would that mess something up inside the transponder and or servo?
austinspeer810 is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:15 AM
  #2  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 74
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I never missed a lap mounted there. I since moved mine to under the steering on my RC10, but it's a pain to work on the steering with it up there, so I don't really recommend it. It doesn't miss any laps there, either.
otter is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:24 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
austinspeer810's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Michigan "810"
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have a losi 22t with no transponder. I am thinking of getting one soon and I am curious as to where people put theres
austinspeer810 is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:31 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
WIGMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Soo, Michigan
Posts: 984
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I use velcro to secure mine to the top of the servo in my 22B, 22T, and 22SCT, I never miss laps and my servos work fine.
WIGMAN is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 10:35 AM
  #5  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

Originally Posted by austinspeer810
Where do people mount their transponders? I see people putting them on top of their servo but would that mess something up inside the transponder and or servo?



recommend to mount the TP on top of the servo , away from direct contact with metal or graphite chassis's ...
Wild Cherry is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 12:25 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (61)
 
orcadigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

I have not had issues mounting to the CF chassis (pan cars) or on top of the servo (touring cars). Mounting it in the stock location for an 811be was bad though. I have read mounting it flat is much better then on the side of something, but anything is better then on a metal chassis sandwiched between that and the ESC.
orcadigital is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 12:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 235
Default

On my 22 i use servo tape to mount the plastic holder to the servo then just plug in and slide the mylaps in when i need to. Haven't had any issues.
neospud is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 12:49 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,412
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by orcadigital
I have not had issues mounting to the CF chassis (pan cars) or on top of the servo (touring cars). Mounting it in the stock location for an 811be was bad though. I have read mounting it flat is much better then on the side of something, but anything is better then on a metal chassis sandwiched between that and the ESC.
Yes, laying flat is preferred, standing it on it's side reduces the antennae area.
asc6000 is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 01:10 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 99
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can mount it anywhere it fits really. The only time I have had a problem with the mounting location is when it was placed under a receiver. Not sure exactly what was happening, but two different transponders did the same thing and never worked until it was removed from there.
Deluxe312 is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 04:01 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
T. Herwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset, PA
Posts: 2,373
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I mount on the top of servo in my 22 as mentioned by others. Works great
T. Herwig is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 05:04 PM
  #11  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (112)
 
thecman26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Central Kansas
Posts: 8,269
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

I have always had my transponders mounted on top of my servo, 8 years now, never missed a lap count yet...

Otherwise a nice clean flat spot on the chassis will work.
thecman26 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.