Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tekin Pro 4 HD Factory Thread >

Tekin Pro 4 HD Factory Thread

Tekin Pro 4 HD Factory Thread

Reply

Old 03-13-2013, 01:10 AM
  #46  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,219
Default

Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
with SC like tekno sct410 and motors like pro4 HD, keeping it real... isn't this 1/8th scale racing?
No, its 1/9th...

I think 4S should have been the standard for pro-4.

Silly roar and their dumb ideas to run 6lbs trucks on 2S.
UK.hardcore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:34 AM
  #47  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
aloksatoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N California
Posts: 3,099
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rufus2010 View Post
You are changing your story and making up facts to bolster your case.
A T8 weighs less than 3/4 of a pound, not a pound. About 11.6 oz/330grams. Also, you said you wanted to pair up two 7000 mah packs up for a total of 14,000 mah. One 7000 mah pack, with wiring, weighs 12-15oz/360-450grams, depending on brand. You can get light, low mah 4s packs to lighten things up, but that is not what you said.

Edit: I reread your post again, and I understand your position better, but getting down to the weight of an SCT410 would only be realistic with lots of mods and a 3000-4000mah 4s pack.
No problem. Not really true for the weights though. w.r.t. the T8, your again assuming I have the buggy motor. The truggys heavier. Also don't know where you are getting weights for packs I own. I have the promatch 7200 IP packs and they are 308 grams. http://www.promatchracing.com/products.php?cat=38
aloksatoor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 01:42 AM
  #48  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
aaron2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 1,318
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Guys the Pro 4 HD isn't for a 1/8 Buggy. It's for the non ROAR SC racers that like to run the lighter 3s and 4s setups. I tested a 4s 3000mah setup and it runs for DAYS!

For 1/8 E buggy indoor and lighter vehicles we have something "coming soon" for that
We run your 1400kv almost exclusively indoors at Thunder R/C in Nashville TN. So if you need a stomping ground for testing... hit me up!
aaron2u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:32 AM
  #49  
Tech Regular
 
ferrarieeeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 287
Default

Its very tempting to put the 4300kv into eb48 for a 2s only setup.......
ferrarieeeee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:50 AM
  #50  
Tech Regular
 
ferrarieeeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 287
Default

Btw can the 4300kv match with hobbywing sctpro or do I need RX8?
ferrarieeeee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:55 AM
  #51  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (94)
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,258
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Guys the Pro 4 HD isn't for a 1/8 Buggy. It's for the non ROAR SC racers that like to run the lighter 3s and 4s setups. I tested a 4s 3000mah setup and it runs for DAYS!

For 1/8 E buggy indoor and lighter vehicles we have something "coming soon" for that
I'm assuming it is the 1850kv you are using of 4s. Can u state how many minutes?

When will this be out?

What are the temps on 4s?

Randy, this is a very good thing what tekin is doing. This is what this sport needs. "Some real logical thinking!"

KUDOS!
teeforb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 06:59 AM
  #52  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
Hoese37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutchinson, MN
Posts: 3,819
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sramos420 View Post
ba boom!!! Tekin Pro4 HD+Tekno SCT410=DOMINATION!!!
Whoa whoa whoa. Slow your horse. The Tekno isnt the holy grail everyone thinks it is. Tekno fanboys are almost worse than the AE ones.
Hoese37 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:04 AM
  #53  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,717
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aloksatoor View Post
No problem. Not really true for the weights though. w.r.t. the T8, your again assuming I have the buggy motor. The truggys heavier. Also don't know where you are getting weights for packs I own. I have the promatch 7200 IP packs and they are 308 grams. http://www.promatchracing.com/products.php?cat=38
+1 . Using the same packs here and have been toying with that idea for my Tekno EB48 as well.

Originally Posted by ferrarieeeee View Post
Its very tempting to put the 4300kv into eb48 for a 2s only setup.......
+1 too lol. Main thing, could just share similar setup with my EB48, batteries, and ESC gear.

The main thing I would be curious is there any issue with running this with an ESC that has no problem running the Pro4 4600Kv motor? If not, may be worth a shot.

And to clarify, that may be an easier thing for Tekin to answer or at least have an opinion on versus saying another manufacturers Esc will work with their stuff lol.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:25 AM
  #54  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The 4s SC setups just run more efficient, Twice the voltage, half the amp draw. I don't recall run time exactly but I can tell you it wasn't an issue running for 10 minutes.

The Rx8 is the best choice for this motor. I cannot vouch for "other" esc's that may or may not run the motor. IT's likely that if the "other" esc you're using is running a Pro 4 4600 without issue it should run the Pro 4 HD as well.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:31 AM
  #55  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,717
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

fully understand Randy about what you can recommend etc, no sweat.

The RX8 has been the standard bearer for how 4x4 SCT has gone for sure. As a side request, anyway you guys can look into a handheld programmer like several of the other guys have and if you do, can you have it so you can load different firmwares for the ESC on the programmer itself?
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:31 AM
  #56  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (94)
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,258
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The 4s SC setups just run more efficient, Twice the voltage, half the amp draw. I don't recall run time exactly but I can tell you it wasn't an issue running for 10 minutes.

The Rx8 is the best choice for this motor. I cannot vouch for "other" esc's that may or may not run the motor. IT's likely that if the "other" esc you're using is running a Pro 4 4600 without issue it should run the Pro 4 HD as well.
When will the motor be out?
teeforb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 07:45 AM
  #57  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
No, its 1/9th...

I think 4S should have been the standard for pro-4.

Silly roar and their dumb ideas to run 6lbs trucks on 2S.
I don't agree 4s should be the 4wd sct standard. I ran a 3s setup once (2400Kv) and it was awesome. Better than any 2s setup i've tried. More torque, better runtime, less heat, and overall less stress on electronics. 4s is e-buggy's realm, 3s should be perfect to bridge the gap between 2s-1/10, and 4s-1/8. Btw, i ran that 2400Kv setup against 2s setups and i had no more speed than anybody else there. Never outran anybody on the straight, and they didn't outrun me.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:25 AM
  #58  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (94)
 
teeforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Diego & Compton CA
Posts: 7,258
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post
I don't agree 4s should be the 4wd sct standard. I ran a 3s setup once (2400Kv) and it was awesome. Better than any 2s setup i've tried. More torque, better runtime, less heat, and overall less stress on electronics. 4s is e-buggy's realm, 3s should be perfect to bridge the gap between 2s-1/10, and 4s-1/8. Btw, i ran that 2400Kv setup against 2s setups and i had no more speed than anybody else there. Never outran anybody on the straight, and they didn't outrun me.
There are not much technical advancements in the 3s relm. Most 3s you can find is around 35C discharge.

I'll be getting the 1850 for sure!
teeforb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:30 AM
  #59  
Team Tekin
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

@ Cain a hand held programmer? We can do better than that...stay tuned.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 08:32 AM
  #60  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (256)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 31,717
Trader Rating: 256 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
@ Cain a hand held programmer? We can do better than that...stay tuned.
Will do!
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service