Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
How can I do this to my Truck? >

How can I do this to my Truck?

How can I do this to my Truck?

Reply

Old 04-30-2005, 12:56 AM
  #1  
cxp
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Default How can I do this to my Truck?

Here is a link to an electric r/c that goes completely under water and still runs. I am trying to find out how to do this and do it right.
Thanks for your help!

Under water driving
cxp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 07:47 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
Scrubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 838
Default

DC motors and batteries work fine under water, the LRP quantum2 speed control is supposed to work under water, use a good servo with orings seals around the case and output shaft, then seal it with silicone. The receiver can be put inside a rubber ballon and tighten and seal the end with the wires and antenna with silicone.
Scrubb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 11:26 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 172
Default

I would email the guy that posted that movie. That looked to me like a kyosho type kit car. Back in the day I remember that those type of cars had a hard plastic tub type chassis. All of the electronics were inside of it. SO it would be very easy to seal that type of vehicle.
venomousRC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 08:18 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 174
Default

the green car in the video is a http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=58324 which has a partially sealed radio box. then i bet they balloned the reciver and sealed the servo, just to be safe.
Myt3rocks is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 10:13 PM
  #5  
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Default

and for the rock climber...they have special ball links or something..and suspension for it to have ALOT of suspension travel
RC Noob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 02:39 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Lutz, FL
Posts: 9
Default

what about the motor? how is it sealed up?
Tyler C. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 08:38 AM
  #7  
KSI
Tech Adept
 
KSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 197
Default

you dont need to seal the motor. you should be careful of rust tho.
KSI is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service