Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Novak Pulse new power house speed controller! >

Novak Pulse new power house speed controller!

Novak Pulse new power house speed controller!

Reply

Old 02-19-2013, 10:55 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Novak Pulse new power house speed controller!

Installed this tonight, excited to race it this weekend! Have to say setup was a breeze...

Dry run on street was very impressed by response and smooth consistent braking.

I will report Sunday race results!
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:32 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've run two race days on mine.

Really impressed. Having the ability to save profiles in the speedo is a real bonus. Allows you to try different settings track-side.

MiCk B. :-)
MiCk B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:35 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 908
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Is the cap soldered directly to the batt leads, or is it plug-in? Can't tell from the pics or descriptions.
Jason B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:42 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Pygmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 506
Default

If only http://www.teamnovak.com/ worked so people could read about it.

And once again error codes through flashing LED's.. I hoped in 2013 it wouldn't be too much to have bluetooth/wifi connection and decent wireless configuration / error-output through a smartphone.
Pygmy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:43 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 908
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pygmy View Post
If only http://www.teamnovak.com/ worked so people could read about it..
Yup... glad it's not just me
Jason B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 07:59 AM
  #6  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 183
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jason B View Post
Is the cap soldered directly to the batt leads, or is it plug-in? Can't tell from the pics or descriptions.
The cap is soldered to the battery leads.
So easy to change / re-mount.

MiCk B. :-)
MiCk B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:04 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Site Down

I have heard they may be upgrading the system could be down for day or two.

The cap is soldered directly to Speedo. It is off to side i can snap a photo tonight just PM me.

I personally used hobby wing and tekin software systems, and they were cool. I just like the fact you do not have to load up a laptop. I can change my settings track side and after messing with it for half hour, i just about know how to change all of it by heart.

One cool thing is speed comes pre soldered with awesome 12 gauge wire. It very clean and neat.

On track test hopefully Friday and Sunday!
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:13 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 851
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

All good and well until it does a standard blovak and catches fire.

Yeah, I'm bitter about it. :P
Chamelion is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:58 AM
  #9  
Suspended
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mother America
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racerob1983 View Post
I have heard they may be upgrading the system could be down for day or two.

The cap is soldered directly to Speedo. It is off to side i can snap a photo tonight just PM me.

I personally used hobby wing and tekin software systems, and they were cool. I just like the fact you do not have to load up a laptop. I can change my settings track side and after messing with it for half hour, i just about know how to change all of it by heart.

One cool thing is speed comes pre soldered with awesome 12 gauge wire. It very clean and neat.

On track test hopefully Friday and Sunday!
The Tekin has the ability to change between custom profiles trackside.

The Novak may have perfect solder joints because it is pre-wired, but you still have to solder the wires on the motor. Your best bet if you want perfect solder joints, is to get good at soldering.

Not to sound like a Debbie Downer, but you are going to get a lot of negative attention from everyone here. A lot of people (myself included), have had bad experiences with Novak products. You started a thread with great enthusiasm about a new Novak product, and you have a Novak logo for your avatar. Be prepared to catch a lot of crap.

I wrote Novak off when they spec'd capacitors marked with red on the negative post, soldered them up so the red marked negative posts were on the positive battery posts, and then proceeded to let the escs pass qc like that.

Again, good luck with the inevitable hate you will receive from this thread.
ifuonlyknew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:02 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Cool Hm

I have had Tekin i actually used it in 3 setups Rx8 ,Tekin RS.

Nothing wrong with it but i am just not into running the same thing everyone else is. Kinda Ford, chevy, dodge deal...lol. I have had couple issues with their product and decided i wanted to try another manufacture. They also offered great customer service to fix the issues.

I am also in manufacturing and we have issues daily, hell everything i buy these day's i expect issues. Shit happens in manufacturing whether overseas or domestically. I have heard of the issue that novak has had, but look at Toyota for instance, they are as their marketing campaign says "moving forward".

The key thing is support if they did not support you than that is not cool. I do like the fact that they do manufacture in the US and the service is amazing.

The main test is racing so i look forward to running it this weekend. I have ran tekin and hobby wing so i think i will have a pretty good feel and i will give reports.

Btw.. i am a chevy guy lol
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:33 PM
  #11  
Suspended
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mother America
Posts: 1,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I know you had a Tekin. I made the point about the ability to switch between custom profiles on the Tekin because you said you liked how you could do that with the Pulse, but you already had that option with the Tekin. So getting excited about a feature that you previously had, seems kind of pointless.

The bad experience I had with Novak was as follows.

I was running a Ballistic 17.5 for a Novak points series. I got second in the series, and the prize for second was a Ballistic 17.5. So I put the new Ballistic in my car, with the same gearing, and esc settings. I sold my old Ballistic to a local racer that was moving from novice, and needed a 17.5 to replace his rtr motor. With the same gearing, motor timing, and esc settings, the new Ballistic was a dog and got hot. Then in the first qualifier it let the magic smoke out. Novak did replace my motor with a remanufactered one. They also included a rather condecending letter about correct motor gearing and esc timing.still, I explained exactly what I did with the new motor, and how I ran all of the exact same settings as my previous Ballistic, yet it still blew up, and they still sent the letter. I promptly sold the motor, and have not looked back since. Then Novak had the whole capacitor debacle, and I knew I made the right decision.

Good luck with the new esc. Hopefully it works very well for you.
ifuonlyknew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 01:49 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Oh ok, i have had same issues with Xp steering servos, (still use them) , Spectrum receivers, (still use them and the knock off $10 ones ).

It happens, everyone has a preference me and about 3 guys i run with had Pro4 failures. Manufacture covered issue no big deal. But i do hear you it does get a little old sending product back.

I think every manufacture can have issues, actually i know for fact they do. If you think everything you buy is tested for Qc. I think you would be thinking wrong. Most dist / manufacturef do not even see the product they are shipping. Container lands product rolls ! Only think they test and see is sample. Manufacture depend exclusively on the factory to QC product.

My personal opinion is you were like me with Xp just that lucky...

Pro4 on other hand i think guys, including myself are just pushing that motor beyond its means. I pushed my pro4 motor to 200 degrees on some tracks. I also do think the Novak 550 can 4.5 turn motor can handle what you hand it. That is one reason i decided to go this route.

Thanks for your input, this is what this form is for opinions and past experiences ....

Last edited by racerob1983; 02-20-2013 at 01:59 PM.
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 02:28 PM
  #13  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

I ran the first Gen Novak GTB with a 13.5kv on my 2wd SC ive never had any issues with them at all just not the easyiest to change profiles on it.
tc5 man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:19 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I agree with TC5 man im still on my original GTB as well. Im running a 17.5 ballistic motor with it however. Never skipped a beat...still finish in 5th or 6th place every time I take it out.
???E-Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:40 PM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Pulse

If you are running sc 2wd buy Novak 10.5 or 8.5 that will get you podium !!!
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service