Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Novak Pulse new power house speed controller! >

Novak Pulse new power house speed controller!

Novak Pulse new power house speed controller!

Reply

Old 02-22-2013, 12:07 PM
  #31  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default running the pulse tonight

I look forward to practicing tonight to get it tuned in...

I will have better feed back this evening...
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 02:48 PM
  #32  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 161
Default

I have about 30 packs on my Pulse now and love it. It's smooth, the brakes are strong, and can be tweaked quite a bit if you like to tinker. I previously had the Orion and loved it as well but unless you plan to buy a programming box you can't take out the timing or fine tune it without one.

The pulse can be fully adjusted at the track and you can set up multiple profiles. It's not a quick process by any means but I've had esc's that require laptops and programming boxes and it's sure nice not needing either.

And if you just want to plug it in and race, there are 5 one touch profiles ready to go that work great. Many of the team guys here in AZ simply use the one touch setup and prefer profile 1. Myself I like to tinker... lol.
Trevor Clement is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:36 PM
  #33  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Report from practice!

Everything was awesome. I have to do little more fine tuning but love everything so far. My pulse system seems to be possibly a game changer! Only time will tell and the driver has to step his game up also!

Also for customer that have had any issues. Novak in my opinion has some of the best tech help I have witnessed in any form of hobby industries. Charlie who is lead tech at Novak seems to answer questions with in seconds from his email. [email protected] feel free to contact him with any tech help or guidance with product you may need. I also hear he is one hell of a race director....
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:54 PM
  #34  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 191
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

i have ran the pulse for a few weeks. so far no issues. ran a 4000kv pro4 and a tenshock sc411 4000kv. the tenshock was ran with an mmp prior to the pulse and it ran about 20 degrees cooler with the pulse.
cm03 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 07:36 AM
  #35  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Can one of you guys post the dimensions of the board on the pulse? I think Novak publishes the footprint of the case but the board actually hangs over it on 2 sides. Also, I was looking at some pictures of it and the included wires seem a little short, at least a couple inches shorter than the ones included with the GTB2 or Havoc Pro.
sugs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 08:42 AM
  #36  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
MiCk B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 185
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sugs View Post
........ Also, I was looking at some pictures of it and the included wires seem a little short, at least a couple inches shorter than the ones included with the GTB2 or Havoc Pro.
Don't have one to hand to measure for you.

But yes the first batch had short wires on them. I've been in contact with Novak about it. They were aware of it. Next batch will have normal (longer) wire.

The PCB board on the Pulse is sizes for 12ga wire, so it was / is much easier to re-wire with 12ga then any of the other Novak speedos.

MiCk B. :-)
MiCk B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 09:02 AM
  #37  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sugs View Post
Can one of you guys post the dimensions of the board on the pulse? I think Novak publishes the footprint of the case but the board actually hangs over it on 2 sides. Also, I was looking at some pictures of it and the included wires seem a little short, at least a couple inches shorter than the ones included with the GTB2 or Havoc Pro.
I will get you measurement shortly...
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 11:11 AM
  #38  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sugs View Post
Can one of you guys post the dimensions of the board on the pulse? I think Novak publishes the footprint of the case but the board actually hangs over it on 2 sides. Also, I was looking at some pictures of it and the included wires seem a little short, at least a couple inches shorter than the ones included with the GTB2 or Havoc Pro.
Board width is 1 1/4 inches
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 02:07 PM
  #39  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
sugs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MiCk B View Post
But yes the first batch had short wires on them. I've been in contact with Novak about it. They were aware of it. Next batch will have normal (longer) wire.

The PCB board on the Pulse is sizes for 12ga wire, so it was / is much easier to re-wire with 12ga then any of the other Novak speedos.

MiCk B. :-)
Thanks, good to know.

Originally Posted by racerob1983 View Post
Board width is 1 1/4 inches
Thanks for the width measurement! And the length?...
sugs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:05 PM
  #40  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sugs View Post
Thanks, good to know.



Thanks for the width measurement! And the length?...
Pretty sure 1 3/4 . I would cut too make it fit ...lol
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:53 PM
  #41  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Novak big win today

Just seen Novak had big win today , activ 8 system I also bought one of them for my buggy. I really like how smooth and useful the power band is in that combo..
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 01:42 PM
  #42  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Won today

Gues you guys that bought the pulse were right I won first time out with mine today.. 2wd sc mod. Was very smooth . buggy was also good with activ8 just needed driver to have little better results.
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 05:24 PM
  #43  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 534
Default

Came here to learn something, and had to work my way through 2 pages of whining and b!etching.
Where's the Kleenex?
pablo040 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:12 PM
  #44  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
racerob1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 214
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pablo040 View Post
Came here to learn something, and had to work my way through 2 pages of whining and b!etching.
Where's the Kleenex?
Lol
racerob1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2013, 06:22 PM
  #45  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 908
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pablo040 View Post
Came here to learn something, and had to work my way through 2 pages of whining and b!etching.
Where's the Kleenex?
Sounds like you're really spent after such a feat of endurance and tenacity. Way to hang in there Look on the bright side... You had enough energy left over to whine about whining
Jason B is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service