Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread >

TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread

Like Tree7Likes

TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread

Reply

Old 02-06-2013, 01:25 PM
  #556  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,830
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Conti027 View Post
Are the lap times better then X?
Is Losi be better than X?
Everybody knows X is for women and children........
BmainStar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:29 PM
  #557  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,864
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
Why wasn't the difference made up in the towers? Just dont see the logic behind that, that's all.
Not sure what you mean by this. Why not lower the towers a little to get more droope? It is common for use ot add an take away small amounts of droop with the eyelets. Not sure why the towers would need to be raised or lowered?

Originally Posted by gawith0413 View Post
Or get the AE ones. ASC91308
As Grand pointed out AE's will not work for the SCTE.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:32 PM
  #558  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Not sure what you mean by this. Why not lower the towers a little to get more droope? It is common for use ot add an take away small amounts of droop with the eyelets. Not sure why the towers would need to be raised or lowered?
I think he meant why not lower the towers instead of doing 2 turns out on the shock bottoms.

My guess is cost and part carryover between trucks. You can also screw/unscrew the bottoms to adjust length, but if you adjust via the tower you're pretty much locked in.
goehm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 03:43 PM
  #559  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,864
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by goehm View Post
I think he meant why not lower the towers instead of doing 2 turns out on the shock bottoms.

My guess is cost and part carryover between trucks. You can also screw/unscrew the bottoms to adjust length, but if you adjust via the tower you're pretty much locked in.
Yeah I guess that was kind of my point. Lowering the tower would limit uptravel as well.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:54 PM
  #560  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,302
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
xxxtruck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:16 PM
  #561  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
KingdomRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 1,483
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I meant lowering the mounting point on the tower to compensate for the amount of loosening the shock ends.
Arrgghh, I probably still don't make sense
KingdomRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:17 PM
  #562  
Tech Elite
 
allan42r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: OSWEGO IL.
Posts: 2,602
Default

Originally Posted by xxxtruck View Post
CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
when is the hd available? might just have to try one out in a 2.0.
allan42r is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:34 PM
  #563  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

ok guys...ive had a few people asking me about what motor to use if they want to run 2s and then 3s but and wanted to know how to figure out what motor to use for their type of battery.
One wants to make a spare slash 4x4 into one of those jconcepts scalpel trucks and was trying to decide on a 7700kv motor or 2200kv motor and just wants to do fast running(speed runs type)
And the other said..."im thinking about getting the ex run tacon kit, in either 4000kv or 6000, not sure yet (my logic 6000 would be better, but i know nothing....) id like something that can handle 3s at some point."

Wanted to see if any of you know where i can send them online to do some research and think about their options...thank you guys!
TCCustoms is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 06:46 PM
  #564  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,864
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxtruck View Post
CASPER with the new tekin hd 4700 what pinion size are you running.
The HD motors are not out yet and I have not run one. I think the fast one is a 4300KV though. Not 100% positve on that. Either way without playing with one I can't give you an answer. Sorry.

Originally Posted by KingdomRacer View Post
Yeah, I meant lowering the mounting point on the tower to compensate for the amount of loosening the shock ends.
Arrgghh, I probably still don't make sense
Lowering the tower drops the shock and would limit the uptravel. Not something you always want. Not sure why unscrewing the eyelet a turn or two is such a big deal. It is easy to do and does not hurt anything. More then enough thread engagement still and this is a fine tuning adjustment.

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
ok guys...ive had a few people asking me about what motor to use if they want to run 2s and then 3s but and wanted to know how to figure out what motor to use for their type of battery.
One wants to make a spare slash 4x4 into one of those jconcepts scalpel trucks and was trying to decide on a 7700kv motor or 2200kv motor and just wants to do fast running(speed runs type)
And the other said..."im thinking about getting the ex run tacon kit, in either 4000kv or 6000, not sure yet (my logic 6000 would be better, but i know nothing....) id like something that can handle 3s at some point."

Wanted to see if any of you know where i can send them online to do some research and think about their options...thank you guys!
Be careful when talking about motors. You can run a lot more KV with a 2pole then you can with a 4 pole so make sure you compare apples to apples.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 07:00 PM
  #565  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Casper View Post
Be careful when talking about motors. You can run a lot more KV with a 2pole then you can with a 4 pole so make sure you compare apples to apples.
Correct...thats why i was wondering if anyone knew somewhere i could send them and let them do the research so when they fry their motor...its not my fault
TCCustoms is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:29 PM
  #566  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I ran a mmm n 2200 castle in my sons old slash on 2s it was pretty fast, even faster on 3s obviously , beast even in long grass,
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 09:02 PM
  #567  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,543
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by allan42r View Post
when is the hd available? might just have to try one out in a 2.0.
Last I heard, should be available around the same time or a little before the truck.
hacker07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 01:34 AM
  #568  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
KC10Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 300
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thecman26 View Post
Damn I get busy with school and am away for a week and I come back to find this! 37 pages of this!!!

Yep, I gotta have it!

Posted, one great 1.0 for sale...
Yeah. I just ran across this too. Was just about to buy a 1.0 for this spring!

KC10Chief is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 02:44 AM
  #569  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 231
Default

Is 2.0 towers compatible with 1.0 car?
Bigbearfin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 07:27 AM
  #570  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bigbearfin View Post
Is 2.0 towers compatible with 1.0 car?
Sure are. The new ones offer additional holes for camber adjustment, which is usable in both truck versions.
goehm is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service