Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread > TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread
Like Tree6Likes

TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread


Old 05-27-2013, 10:00 AM
  #3931  
Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

After running for 10 minutes, 165 degrees is not too hot. Just remember that you have a fan on that thing and if it fails the motor temp will get quite a bit higher. That's why I don't run a fan unless I am practicing.
bds81175 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:04 AM
  #3932  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,749
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by aland View Post
Thanks!

Btw, is this a stupid idea for practice runs? The Pro4HD 1850 as motor in this case.
Unless you run that way in the quals/mains, I wouldn't. The truck will drive differently. Practice the way you'll be racing the truck.
goehm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 11:43 AM
  #3933  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Purdue Engineer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mavdriver View Post
Hey guys im getting 10 mins with the Pro 4 HD 4300 , with castle fan , Castle Mamba Pro sensored mode , and 2s Gen Ace 40c pack , temps on motor 165 , batts 108 , speedo 110 , really looking forward to a Tekin Gen 2 RX8 when they are available , also what do you guys think of the temp on the motor is 165 degrees to hot ? also im runing a 15 tooth gear thinking about going 14 maybe it would cool the motor down some , whats your opinion guys ? thanks
Ed
165 is not hot. If you look a few pages back, randy said 200 is max and Caspers motor comes off after a 10 main at 180. I run a 14 tooth pinion and after a full pack (12 to 14 minutes) my motor is 180 to 190. I don't run any fans. Keep it under 200 and your good.
Purdue Engineer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:24 PM
  #3934  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,845
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Purdue Engineer View Post
165 is not hot. If you look a few pages back, randy said 200 is max and Caspers motor comes off after a 10 main at 180. I run a 14 tooth pinion and after a full pack (12 to 14 minutes) my motor is 180 to 190. I don't run any fans. Keep it under 200 and your good.
In the summer my motor gets that hot but typical indoor temps are around 150-160. Randy says anything under 200 is ok.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:26 PM
  #3935  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,993
Default

I was reading in the Car Action mag there was a article on servos and what scale there for and it said the minium was 138oz of torque thats what my servo is at could i use more on my SCTE maybe maybe not. I seen some guys run the Hitec 7954SC servo which has 400oz of torque at 7.4v which i think its really to much lol.

I tryed out the inside hole on the Losi arm and seemed to make the truck turn better and smoother steering throw.

How can you tell really if you need more torque on your servo ?
tc5 man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:34 PM
  #3936  
Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
bds81175's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Litchfield, Minnesota
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I'll take 138 oz in a 2wd buggy but not for one of these. With the wider, taller tires that are driven by the drive train you want to make sure you have enough snort to make it go where you tell it to. RC Car Action is not supposed to be read. It's only good for the pretty, glossy pictures LOL!!!
bds81175 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:39 PM
  #3937  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (70)
 
RiceP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
I was reading in the Car Action mag there was a article on servos and what scale there for and it said the minium was 138oz of torque thats what my servo is at could i use more on my SCTE maybe maybe not. I seen some guys run the Hitec 7954SC servo which has 400oz of torque at 7.4v which i think its really to much lol.

I tryed out the inside hole on the Losi arm and seemed to make the truck turn better and smoother steering throw.

How can you tell really if you need more torque on your servo ?
I use a savox 1258tg witch has 166oz at 6.0v and .8 speed this is perfect for me fast enough and strong enough to get around any track I have run on 400oz is a little over kill IMO
RiceP is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:44 PM
  #3938  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,993
Default

Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
I'll take 138 oz in a 2wd buggy but not for one of these. With the wider, taller tires that are driven by the drive train you want to make sure you have enough snort to make it go where you tell it to. RC Car Action is not supposed to be read. It's only good for the pretty, glossy pictures LOL!!!




Well my truck will turn maybe not turn the sharpest but it will turn on them open outdoor track layouts. On tighter tracks its ok thats where i could use more torque on the servo. I do have my saver pretty tight though also and the inside hole on the Losi arm.
tc5 man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:48 PM
  #3939  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
TCCustoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: South Central Michigan
Posts: 1,512
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bds81175 View Post
I'll take 138 oz in a 2wd buggy but not for one of these. With the wider, taller tires that are driven by the drive train you want to make sure you have enough snort to make it go where you tell it to. RC Car Action is not supposed to be read. It's only good for the pretty, glossy pictures LOL!!!
haha, thats funny...dont forget the Pit tech section also!
TCCustoms is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:30 PM
  #3940  
Tech Master
iTrader: (83)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 1,454
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a pro4 4600, been running the pro4 4000 for a while on 14 and 15T pinion. I run a fairly small tight track, what would you guys recommend for a pinion with the 4600 on this type of track? It's outdoor with hard packed, sandy loose conditions.
bigbeej is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:03 PM
  #3941  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,845
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I run a 14 on my 4600 but if your track is that tight you might want to try a 13 to start.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 10:33 PM
  #3942  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (2)
 
suzuki_73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I also run the Savox 1258. It is very fast and has plenty of torque! Took me a long time to get used to the faster servo going from a very slow futaba. I am finally getting to the point where I'm not turning too fast and running into the inside of the corner.
suzuki_73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 05:19 AM
  #3943  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
maddog9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,163
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Casper or Hacker, has the new setup been tested on an outdoor med to low traction dusty track yet? And any updates on using the 2 hole pistons for this setup?
maddog9 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 09:39 AM
  #3944  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,541
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maddog9 View Post
Casper or Hacker, has the new setup been tested on an outdoor med to low traction dusty track yet? And any updates on using the 2 hole pistons for this setup?
We ran at Pegasus this weekend and it was less traction than an indoor track but there was traction to be had. We don't test all of the setups we put out there on all types of tracks but usually what we come up with works well in a lot of places.

I cannot stress enough to put the entire setup on though. Casper had some of his droop off this weekend and was night and day different once fixed.
hacker07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 11:11 AM
  #3945  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,845
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hacker07 View Post
We ran at Pegasus this weekend and it was less traction than an indoor track but there was traction to be had. We don't test all of the setups we put out there on all types of tracks but usually what we come up with works well in a lot of places.

I cannot stress enough to put the entire setup on though. Casper had some of his droop off this weekend and was night and day different once fixed.
Yeah setups are in the details. Trying piece parts don't give the full balance to the setup. Now if you put the whole thing on and still need adjustments then tweak on it but give the whole thing a try.
Casper is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service