Search
Like Tree10Likes

TLR TEN-SCTE 2.0 Kit Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2014, 09:49 AM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)

Originally Posted by ridered4life250
OK so I am putting together my brand new $500 kit (and I mention price because of how ripped off I feel) and am encountering some issues. And before I rant, you should know that I have an enginerring degree, race motocross every other weekend (Transworld MX - Muscle Milk Series) and have been building kits since I was 10. What I am getting at is that I know how to building / work on anything mechanical.

1) Was assembling the diff outdrives / covers and the bearings wont slide on the. They are so tight, I had to use a bearing punch to gently tap them on to the diff halfs. I am...ok with this, as this means that the tolerances are very tight. It still should be addressed by losi.

2) DIff screws (holding the ring gear on) are a freaking joke. As previously suggested in this thread, I was careful with them. NOPEEE. No bad. I loose. 2 stripped screws and 5 hours of carefully drilling them out. I finally went and bought the HPI z449 m2.5x12 screws and what do you know...they worked perfect. BTW, I am using MIP tools. Very expensive...very good.
HEY LOSI! Why dont you quit being cheap a-holes and use good quality screws on parts that are as incredibly vital as the diffs? I dunno, just a thought.

3) I put the diff into the diff housing and sure enough, the diff binds. From what I can tell, the 2 diff housing pieces arent big enough on the flang / the bearing races are too tight. What this means is that when I use the 4 screws to secure the housing halfs together, it squeezes the bearings so tight that they bind. See below.