R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Like Tree5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2013, 04:45 PM   #5251
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmackani View Post
It sounds like his truck is pushing. Too much rear traction and too little up front.
That is how I would describe it, pushing, when I expect it to turn really fast.
Pushing down on it while turning the wheels, digs dirt up.
rob4448585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:46 PM   #5252
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgod View Post
Maybe the servo saver is loose. Also servos can turn fine when in the air but under a load they may bog down. Try sitting the truck on carpet or slightly pushing down on the chassis and turning the wheels and see if they move quickly. Are you running the stock setup?
I checked that and it is not loose. They do move quickly if I put the truck on the ground. I am running the ryan dunford 5/22 setup
rob4448585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:47 PM   #5253
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Is this a new issue or has it been there since a setup change?
This has been there a while, I think it is more obvious now, as I am driving the truck faster and faster.
rob4448585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:47 PM   #5254
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggieFries View Post
Have you tried driving Eric's truck yet? I didn't like it at all. Seems like he is just driving it much harder, which is also why he crashes faster too hahaha.
I haven't, I think I need to drive his truck and see. It could be all in my head, but his truck appears to turn VERY fast.
rob4448585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 05:34 PM   #5255
Tech Lord
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,521
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob4448585 View Post
This has been there a while, I think it is more obvious now, as I am driving the truck faster and faster.
I'm not sure what setup you have but here's what I would try and not in any order. Try them one at a time they will all add more steering but may have a negative effect that is not wanted.
  • Softer front spring and or swaybar
  • Stiffer rear spring and or swaybar
  • Short Ackerman plate
  • Shorter front link and or move it down on the tower
  • Shorter rear link
  • Move the rear hubs more towards the front
  • Move the battery all the way forward
  • Lower the front ride height 1-2mm
__________________
- X-Ray/ RC America Team Driver - MKS -
- XB8 - XB8T - XB8 E - OS Spec III - B2102 - 4PXR -
~ SSC ~ Godfather ~ Ironman ~ ButterySmooth ~
Frank L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 06:54 PM   #5256
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 158
Default HELP with carpet setup SCTE 2.0

Tried carpet yesterday. Unless I really slowed down into turns, it rolled. At times my steering was wide and easy to pass(I since locked servo saver and installed 2.0 sway bar).

My Durango friend was killing me. It pissed me off and he knew it.

If possible, can anyone post their setup sheet that works for carpet.

Really appreciate,

Brad
braderb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 07:23 PM   #5257
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by braderb View Post
Tried carpet yesterday. Unless I really slowed down into turns, it rolled. At times my steering was wide and easy to pass(I since locked servo saver and installed 2.0 sway bar).

My Durango friend was killing me. It pissed me off and he knew it.

If possible, can anyone post their setup sheet that works for carpet.

Really appreciate,

Brad
I don't race my SCTE on carpet, but here droop is your friend.

I remember having the same sort of issues when I first got into racing TC on carpet. The track owner came over, adjusted my droop setting and my car was money all of a sudden.

Lower your ride height, limit your droop, and do all your braking BEFORE you enter the turn. If your on power at any point of the turn with that much traction, you will push like crazy. Stay off power until your head starts to point in the direction you want and then roll on the throttle instead of stabbing it. Carpet has so much traction that all your weight will shift aft and your front wheels will lose much of its ability to turn the car. If you set up your car loose in the rear, you will be able to slide the rear around (oversteer) with your throttle. Really you will just have to play with your camber links (length) and adjust your roll center (high or low) until you find a setup that fits your driving style.

Have fun!
JK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 08:41 PM   #5258
Tech Elite
 
goehm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,744
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob4448585 View Post
Let me reiterate,


The wheels turn freely, exceptionally fast, but the truck doesn't turn fast? if that makes sense?

I turn the wheel, it turns, but I am waiting for the truck to actually turn? like the truck is understeering?
What is your setup? Most specifically what diff fluids are you running?
__________________
--GO!
Come visit G's RC Raceway / Shippensburg, PA / www.GSRC.us
goehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:29 PM   #5259
Tech Champion
 
jmackani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Shippensburg
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JK47 View Post
I don't race my SCTE on carpet, but here droop is your friend.

I remember having the same sort of issues when I first got into racing TC on carpet. The track owner came over, adjusted my droop setting and my car was money all of a sudden.

Lower your ride height, limit your droop, and do all your braking BEFORE you enter the turn. If your on power at any point of the turn with that much traction, you will push like crazy. Stay off power until your head starts to point in the direction you want and then roll on the throttle instead of stabbing it. Carpet has so much traction that all your weight will shift aft and your front wheels will lose much of its ability to turn the car. If you set up your car loose in the rear, you will be able to slide the rear around (oversteer) with your throttle. Really you will just have to play with your camber links (length) and adjust your roll center (high or low) until you find a setup that fits your driving style.

Have fun!
Quickest fix before changing too much of your car. Dial out a lot of steering on your radio.
__________________
LCRC Raceway http://www.lostcreekcycles.com/lcrc.htm
Proline Racing http:://www.prolineracing.com
jmackani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 10:50 PM   #5260
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 158
Default carpet setup

My first attempt at carpet
shock position is 1-outside front and rear
height=18
front camber=1
rear camber=2b
diffs
f=5
c=10
r=3
shocks oil
f=35
r=25
springs
f=purple
r=front silver

might try
black front, silver rear springs
heavier shock oil?
front dif 7?

Any suggestions?
braderb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:19 AM   #5261
Tech Elite
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by braderb View Post
Tried carpet yesterday. Unless I really slowed down into turns, it rolled. At times my steering was wide and easy to pass(I since locked servo saver and installed 2.0 sway bar).

My Durango friend was killing me. It pissed me off and he knew it.

If possible, can anyone post their setup sheet that works for carpet.

Really appreciate,

Brad
http://www.losi.com/ProdInfo/Files/L...tro_Carpet.pdf
__________________
Dialed RC Hobbies
rcgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 04:58 AM   #5262
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Does any one have any input on the bce chassis for the 2.0 ?
__________________
Hot bodies- fantom-Aka
a.seffrood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:32 AM   #5263
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,698
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

I only had a couple races on my SCTE 2.0 when I put the BCE 2.0 chassis on it but for me it made a big difference in the way the truck handles. Not to mention if you race outdoors that the stock chassis dents very easy and is cheaply made. I do recommend using the short rear brace from the SCTE 1.0 over using the 2.0 rod.
__________________
Tamiya Euro Truck
B6D
22 4.0
Tekno EB410
JoeC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 12:35 PM   #5264
Tech Fanatic
 
RiceP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 793
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Question I know this is not a scte ? But I don't see a thread for it. The ? is do the watts on a charger decrease the time it takes to charge a lipo want a new charger but trying to find one that doesn't take an hour to charge my maxamps 6500mah I was always under the impression to only charge at 1 amp per 1000mah is this correct I see 10 and 12 amp chargers and 1000watt charges can some one explain was looking at hitec 2x 200 or hypertron duo 180x2
RiceP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 01:07 PM   #5265
Tech Regular
 
kingofcool999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Lincoln NE
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiceP View Post
Question I know this is not a scte ? But I don't see a thread for it. The ? is do the watts on a charger decrease the time it takes to charge a lipo want a new charger but trying to find one that doesn't take an hour to charge my maxamps 6500mah I was always under the impression to only charge at 1 amp per 1000mah is this correct I see 10 and 12 amp chargers and 1000watt charges can some one explain was looking at hitec 2x 200 or hypertron duo 180x2
You should post this question in the radio/electronics section. And sorry, I'm going to be an ass here... Use some punctuation.
__________________
*** THIS SPACE UNINTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK ***
kingofcool999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net