Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
do you make pit stops in an electric race? >

do you make pit stops in an electric race?

do you make pit stops in an electric race?

Reply

Old 01-10-2013, 08:24 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Default do you make pit stops in an electric race?

what happens if your battery runs out in the middle of a race? does this happen alot? i have a traxxas slash vxl, what class can i go into and what size battery should i use?
14tylbow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:33 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (70)
 
microrcdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 710
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Races are 4-8 minutes long, typically without pitstops. Check with your local track regarding their battery rules, some only allow 2c hardcase Lipo packs.
microrcdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 08:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 84
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

If your track mixes nitro and electric in the same class and the race is longer 8-10 minutes (the main) then they will usually require the electrics to "pit" (stop and go). Essentially it's just to make it fair for the nitro since they have to pit. Most electric cars running lipo/brushless setups will make 15-20 minutes easily.
gte024h is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (20)
 
youwish16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 718
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

when i ran 17.5t sct, i used a 5000mah hard case lipo(http://www.hobbypartz.com/98p-40c-50...-hardcase.html). usually, races are never more than 10 mins.

i still run the same batteries in my ebuggy now(2 x 2s in series)
youwish16 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:45 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default

We did an endurance in electric so we had to, it took about 20 seconds to do the pit stop, everything included. This was in 1/8 scale
Pulse_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:21 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 12
Default

i already have two 5000mah, 8.4v batts, one 3000mah batt and two chargers for them. do i have to buy a lipo batt and a lipo charger if i ever want to race?
14tylbow is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service