Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Need help choosing first racing car >

Need help choosing first racing car

Need help choosing first racing car

Old 01-09-2013, 12:15 PM
Tech Adept

Default Need help choosing first racing car

Hey guys Im going to start doing some indoor off road racing and need help choosing a good first car or truck. I have about $400 to spend. For indoor racing I would probably need a 1/10 buggy or truck so help me out. Like buggy or truck, 2wd or 4wd rtr or kit and just help me out on my first racing one to buy. And don't say like a crappy car cause I'm a good driver but I have just never raced so I want to get started.
Old 01-09-2013, 12:26 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

#1 Go to your track to talk to racers and discuss what classes are popular in your area. If you plan to race then you need to buy a car/truck that fits into the existing classes. If they have a hobby shop go there to gather information about their race program.

#2 Once you know what car/truck you like and you want more info then search this forum for that car/truck. There will be hundreds of posts about almost every car.

$700 is a more realistic budget for a race vehicle. That's a big number but racing always costs more than just playing around. You will need car, radio, steering servo, electronic speed control, brushless motor, race tires, lipo battery, charger, tools, and paint at least.

Hope that helps!
Old 01-09-2013, 01:31 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

If you're locked in at $400, your best bet may be to put a car together via the classifieds here on RCTech (at least the chassis and radio).

Chassis: