Wiki Posts
Search

New to electric off road!

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 04:23 PM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default New to electric off road!

I bought a couple B44 (oldest gen) buggies off of a couple guys here and am hoping to be able to get them going (one at least, maybe the second for my son as he gets old enough - he turns 5 in a few days).

I am new to the electric scene, having mostly ran nitro buggies and monster trucks.

I've got a couple saddle batteries coming from hobby king - turnigy 4850mh 50C. Seemed like a really good deal. They were back stocked on the 5100mh 65c, so I hope I did ok getting the 50s.

One buggy comes with an esc/motor installed (mamba max 7700 combo). The other was a roller + parts. I've got an old esc (F1) that I got when I traded for some rc stuff to get back into the hobby. I may give it a go on the other buggy if you guys think it would suffice (and assuming it works). I also have a drawer full of motors that I'm hoping will work with it (not sure if they will fit - they might me 1/8 scale). Do you think the F1 would run off of the 2s lipo batteries?

I also bought a duratrax onyx 245 charger from another member from here. It looks like it will do a decent job on these batteries. I don't intend on going bigger for batteries (we all say that, right?) so I think it will get me by for a bit at least.

Any pointers or tips you guys can throw at me? I'm reading through the B44 threads right now just trying to get a feel for what I've gotten myself into. The B44.2 may have been a better buy, but I really wanted two buggies, and they weren't in the budget for what I wanted to do. So I'm going with older, but proven technology.

Am I on the right path or do I need to do/get something different?

Thanks guys! Rctech is an awesome forum. Very glad I found it!
Old 01-02-2013, 08:18 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)