Like Tree14Likes

Tekno SCT410 Thread


Old 11-29-2012, 08:55 PM
  #751  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Rockthecatbox21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas panhandle
Posts: 2,797
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dtr View Post
The dogbone heads of the Losi cvd's cracked on many STCEs, and the drive pins in the couplers are a bit to small and wear out quickly. But neither I have seen a broken cvd shaft.
Ok, totally had a brain fart on that last post. I in fact DID brrak a front cvd shaft on my scte. It cracked right where you said on the part where the cvd meets the dogbone. Just didn't remember until now for some reason. Sucks as i remember it made me quit racing that night as nobody had a spare.
btw this was all with 10th scale electronics as well.
Rockthecatbox21 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:52 AM
  #752  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
v1r killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: GOLD COAST, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post
don't recall if this has been fixed in the eb48 and hence the SCT410, but do we still need to upgrade the servo horn to one like the Hot bodies one?
Just reminded me ty, now in basket ready to go. This let go the first drive of the eb48. Fitted the hb horn and never looked back.
v1r killer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:01 AM
  #753  
dtr
Tech Master
 
dtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: budapest, hungary
Posts: 1,532
Default

Originally Posted by Rockthecatbox21 View Post
Ok, totally had a brain fart on that last post. I in fact DID brrak a front cvd shaft on my scte. It cracked right where you said on the part where the cvd meets the dogbone. Just didn't remember until now for some reason. Sucks as i remember it made me quit racing that night as nobody had a spare.
btw this was all with 10th scale electronics as well.
That's bad luck, sorry to hear that. I had my right rear crack, but it still held the pin and I only noticed it during cleaning the car after the race. Another local racer had the same problem. Our cars were from the same batch, so I guess it was
some error in the manufacturing process.
I hope my Tekno center CVD will remain free of defects
dtr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:04 AM
  #754  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 96
Default

Originally Posted by Cackswayn View Post
Hu, I ran a t8 1900 on 4s for a couple months on the losi with no problems.
nice to read it!
could you tell more how the car is with these sets?
XzedamX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 12:47 PM
  #755  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 15
Questions??

Originally Posted by teknorc View Post
SC10 4x4 wheels will work. There is clearance for the ribbing, we made sure of it (Thanks to DE Racing for the help with that). The AE wheels might push it over 296mm depending on toe/camber, but it should fit. In the ROAR rule book, it states that the width measurement is from axle center to axle center. If this is truly the case, the AE wheels should be fine.

The SCTE wheels are ~1.4mm narrower and are ROAR legal.
I notice you said that you know that the SC10 4X4 wheels will work. Does anyone from Tekno know if the Jconcepts Hazard wheels will fit? I would post a link, but I don't have enough post yet.

They are part number 3344B, which is SC10 4X4 wheels with 3 mm wider offset.

I assume they should, but just wanted to make sure before I sell them all.

I can't wait to get this SC, it should be a blast!

Thanks in advance.
timelam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:20 PM
  #756  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,725
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timelam View Post
I notice you said that you know that the SC10 4X4 wheels will work. Does anyone from Tekno know if the Jconcepts Hazard wheels will fit? I would post a link, but I don't have enough post yet.

They are part number 3344B, which is SC10 4X4 wheels with 3 mm wider offset.

I assume they should, but just wanted to make sure before I sell them all.

I can't wait to get this SC, it should be a blast!

Thanks in advance.
They have said that the truck is designed to use Losi SCTE offset wheels. the Associated SC104x4 wheels will most likely push it to the edge of being R.O.A.R legal So a plus 3mm wheel wont fit properly
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:24 PM
  #757  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (249)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 30,504
Trader Rating: 249 (100%+)
Default

Am I correct in assuming these will cause the same problem as the Jconcepts Hazards:

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ite-2-TEN-SCTE

like the look, didn't know losi's could go 3mm more.

All these different offsets between brands, crazy stuff.
Cain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:29 PM
  #758  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (125)
 
spunkysandoval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 2,672
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

I think the total offset of those wheels is 3mm. The SC104x4 +3 wheels are all 3mm wider than the stock. So, I think that those will fit without a problem.
spunkysandoval is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:32 PM
  #759  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
teknorc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,158
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

+3mm wheels will fit, they will just be wider than the legal limit. If you're club racing and nobody else cares, run them. Otherwise stick with the SCTE offset.
teknorc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:21 PM
  #760  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by teknorc View Post
+3mm wheels will fit, they will just be wider than the legal limit. If you're club racing and nobody else cares, run them. Otherwise stick with the SCTE offset.

So if I plan on running:
  • Wheels that are not ROAR legal
  • A battery that is not ROAR legal
  • A Tekin HD (that is not yet released and is not ROAR approved since it is a 550 can)

And as long as no one at my track is going to complain, we are all good.

Man, I love pushing the limits.

Seriously does anyone know how the clearance is on Jconcepts Hazard wheels? I should have been more clear on my original question. I plan on getting the correct wheels going forward, but a new SCT410, motor, and speedo, I don't know that 26 pairs of SCT wheels are in the financial cards right now!!!
timelam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:25 PM
  #761  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

what servo would be best for the sct410 and also what battery are most going to run. I am ordering a tekin 4600\rx8 for the kit. this will be my first sc 4wd kit so i am new to this class. thanks.

thanks
Cyric is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 02:32 PM
  #762  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
teknorc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,158
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timelam View Post
I notice you said that you know that the SC10 4X4 wheels will work. Does anyone from Tekno know if the Jconcepts Hazard wheels will fit? I would post a link, but I don't have enough post yet.

They are part number 3344B, which is SC10 4X4 wheels with 3 mm wider offset.

I assume they should, but just wanted to make sure before I sell them all.

I can't wait to get this SC, it should be a blast!

Thanks in advance.
There should be no clearance issues with those wheels. If they fit the SC10 4x4, then they will fit the SCT410 without hitting anything.
teknorc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:39 PM
  #763  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (121)
 
RC*PHREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,623
Trader Rating: 121 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cyric View Post
what servo would be best for the sct410 and also what battery are most going to run. I am ordering a tekin 4600\rx8 for the kit. this will be my first sc 4wd kit so i am new to this class. thanks.

thanks
battery: SMC 6500/70C
servo: radiopost green
RC*PHREAK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:14 PM
  #764  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (55)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by timelam View Post
So if I plan on running:
  • Wheels that are not ROAR legal
  • A battery that is not ROAR legal
  • A Tekin HD (that is not yet released and is not ROAR approved since it is a 550 can)

And as long as no one at my track is going to complain, we are all good.

Man, I love pushing the limits.

Seriously does anyone know how the clearance is on Jconcepts Hazard wheels? I should have been more clear on my original question. I plan on getting the correct wheels going forward, but a new SCT410, motor, and speedo, I don't know that 26 pairs of SCT wheels are in the financial cards right now!!!
I'm considering saying screw it an just running my EB48 setup identically. Tekin RX8 and a T8 1900 on 4s. Most tracks around here don't care anyways. I don't really want to deal with 2s in 1/8 scale sized cars. ROAR is behind the times with this silly rule.

Danny, are the battery straps the same as the EB48? Just wondering if a 4s will fit in there.
Antimullet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 04:23 PM
  #765  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC*PHREAK View Post
battery: SMC 6500/70C
servo: radiopost green
You think the green one is enough for this truck, or would you go with the red servo?
Blitzrockey is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service