Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Sensor Wire Question >

Sensor Wire Question

Sensor Wire Question

Reply

Old 11-01-2012, 07:39 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (53)
 
Trailduster79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default Sensor Wire Question

I have a sensor wire that has only 5 wires instead of 6. I can't remember where it came from.


Would there be any issues running a 5 wire sensor cable? What would it have been used for with only 5 wires?
Trailduster79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 08:16 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (48)
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

My guess is that if the system was designed to run on 6 wires and you give it 5 to work with it will not do the job.


Sensor wires are cheap and fail often enough to keep spares. I would say just get a couple of them.
lbenton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:39 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
jsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rice lake, wi
Posts: 1,036
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If I remember correctly

Pin 1 ground

2 phase 1
3 phase 2
4 phase 3
5 10k thermistor (temp)
6 +5v +/- 10%

Really you can only loose pin #5
jsinclair is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service