Like Tree90Likes

Xray XB4 thread

Reply

Old 03-28-2013, 06:16 AM
  #1966  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
asc6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Meridian Idaho
Posts: 3,386
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mlinder View Post
Chris,

Moving the shocks to the inside arm location requires adding another shim limiter under the pistons, correct?
If you are worried about the axle catching the slot in the drive cup and snapping it then yes.

Originally Posted by farm View Post
Hello,

could you guys suggest engine for xb4, indoor carpet track with
class : modified

im going for ESC+eng : viper, novak, Team orion or SP depends on avaiablility.

Attachment 1049349
IMHO no need for a motor that you can only hit full throttle with on the one straight. 10.5 and hammer down.
asc6000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:11 AM
  #1967  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,399
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm thinking of getting this buggy... I'm currently running a DURANGO DEX410 and it's basically untouchable at my local track if it doesnt break on the main lol..... Anyone has experience comparing between XB4 and DEX410???
Jochim_18 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 06:17 PM
  #1968  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Boz View Post
Just keep dropping your oils each run until you feel it's right. You may only be 2.5-5wt out. With each drop in oils put the 2 dot spring back on again.

Are you do the Australian Nats next week?

Do you have to drill out the kimborough spur to get them to fit?
Do you think I should drop both f/r and keep the same 5wt separation?

Nah, not doing the Aus nats. Not good enough Maybe next year.

I reamed the Kimborough out a bit, maybe only half a mm radius. Was worried about centering at first but it worked out fine. Stock plates sit correctly on the pad and don't contact the spur (unlike K plates). Will post a pic some time.
silvalis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:19 PM
  #1969  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mlinder View Post
Tim,

I am still working on the setup of mine for hard pack clay.

Would you be willing to share your current setup?

Thanks!

Mark
Tim Garland is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:25 AM
  #1970  
Boz
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mlinder View Post
Chris,

Moving the shocks to the inside arm location requires adding another shim limiter under the pistons, correct?
Yes, on my earlier set ups sheets i use the inner hole on the rear, now I'm on the outer hole.

I wish there was spot on the sheets to write down the length of the shock shaft exposed. No offense to Tim's setup sheet, but even the some factory drivers do it too. They miss one little detail off a setup sheet. I only used Tim's sheet as an example, because its above this post.

I use the space first. This will set my minimum down drop with the ball end on the shock screwed all the way on. Then i will unscrew the ball end on race day to find the right balance for the car. If you have the length of the exposed shaft written down, then it's a lot quicker to put a droop setting on with out taking the shock off and on car and adjusting it.

If I'm testing a totally new shock position and want to keep the same droop then this is what I do.
Screw the shock on car with no spring on it, sit the car on the droop blocks, then sit the axle on the appropriate setting on the droop gauge. Next, measure the exposed shaft length. Use this as a estimate as there is some play/slop in your parts and bearing. Then I'll either screw the ball end in or out to get the appropriate shaft length. Worst case senecio will be that you will have to pull shock apart to insert or remove a spacer. Note: when you install the shock with spring on it, re check the droop setting. It may need a fine adjustment. Write this final measurement down, this will make a droop adjustment so much quicker next time required.

Last edited by Boz; 03-29-2013 at 01:38 PM.
Boz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:38 AM
  #1971  
Boz
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silvalis View Post
Do you think I should drop both f/r and keep the same 5wt separation?

Nah, not doing the Aus nats. Not good enough Maybe next year.

I reamed the Kimborough out a bit, maybe only half a mm radius. Was worried about centering at first but it worked out fine. Stock plates sit correctly on the pad and don't contact the spur (unlike K plates). Will post a pic some time.
I don't always run a 5wt difference, up to you. Looking at your oil and piston I would say yes, drop both front and rear oils.
Boz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 02:45 AM
  #1972  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 27
Default servo

Hey,

i have savox low profile servo 1251
Speed(@6.0V sec/60): .09
Torque(@6.0V oz-in): 125.0

do i need something with more torque for 6.5-8.5 turn engine on XB4?

thanks
Adam
farm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 01:30 PM
  #1973  
Boz
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

I use the BLS551 (S9551 US) is plenty for me. I use to use the BLS351 (S9351 US), I can't said I notice a difference.


Specifications BLS551/S9551

Torque: 92 oz-in. @4.8 volts/136 oz-in. @6.0 volts
Speed: 0.14 sec/60 @4.8 volts/0.12 sec/60 @ 6.0 volts
Dimensions: 1.6 x 0.8 x 1.0"
Weight: 1.6 oz
Boz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:48 PM
  #1974  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tim Garland View Post
Tim,

Thanks for posting that setup. I wouldn't have thought to try open cell foam indoors.

Mark
mlinder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 10:43 PM
  #1975  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Tim Garland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mayfield KY
Posts: 2,892
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mlinder View Post
Tim,

Thanks for posting that setup. I wouldn't have thought to try open cell foam indoors.

Mark
One of the tracks we run is very bumpy but at thunder I think closed cell would be better, just haven't tried it. I also believe that barcodes would be better as well, little less roll.
Tim Garland is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 12:03 AM
  #1976  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Boz View Post
I use the BLS551 (S9551 US) is plenty for me. I use to use the BLS351 (S9351 US), I can't said I notice a difference.


Specifications BLS551/S9551

Torque: 92 oz-in. @4.8 volts/136 oz-in. @6.0 volts
Speed: 0.14 sec/60 @4.8 volts/0.12 sec/60 @ 6.0 volts
Dimensions: 1.6 x 0.8 x 1.0"
Weight: 1.6 oz
The s9551 and bls551 are not the same servo. Just FYI
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 02:13 AM
  #1977  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (36)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,509
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Correct . the 9551 is faster but I wouldn't use either one in this car. I have a bls 451 in one of mine . 150+tq/.10 speed.
jlfx car audio is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 03:50 AM
  #1978  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I've been using a 9551 in this car since I got it with zero issues.
silvalis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 07:13 AM
  #1979  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Bls551 no issues here.
B00t13g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 01:55 PM
  #1980  
Boz
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 989
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
The s9551 and bls551 are not the same servo. Just FYI
Ops. You learn something new each day
Boz is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service