R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2012, 04:56 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default Tekin RS ESC not working in sensored mode

Hey dudes. My first post - please be gentle.

Just built my first kit. It's an Associated t4.1, with a Tekin RS, Team Epic D3 10.5 motor (brushless, sensored), Futuba receiver. Everything is brand new.

The ESC and motor runs without the sensor cable, in dual mode. LED's 1 and 4 blink in turn. But when I plug the sensor cable in, the ESC lights go off and the motor stops working, but the steering servo still works. I've tried this in both Dual Mode, and in Sensored Only mode (in HotWire)

Not sure what's going on, but obviously, I need to get this running in sensored. Any suggestions?
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:24 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,166
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bowza1000 View Post
Hey dudes. My first post - please be gentle.

Just built my first kit. It's an Associated t4.1, with a Tekin RS, Team Epic D3 10.5 motor (brushless, sensored), Futuba receiver. Everything is brand new.

The ESC and motor runs without the sensor cable, in dual mode. LED's 1 and 4 blink in turn. But when I plug the sensor cable in, the ESC lights go off and the motor stops working, but the steering servo still works. I've tried this in both Dual Mode, and in Sensored Only mode (in HotWire)

Not sure what's going on, but obviously, I need to get this running in sensored. Any suggestions?
give a call to tekin monday. service is second to none.. BUT first check your wires from speed control to motor. make sure they are right. if you have a oms meter check the sensor cable to make sure its working., and all ends are connected. 1 little wire and your pulling your hair out trying to figure it out if cable is messed up it can do what your saying.
__________________
Losi 22, XXX, SCTE 2.0, 8ight E.2.0, B44 and last but not the last a 44 .3, M11 X
rc scoring pro
Track owner & race director.
Crook County Race Course Prineville Oregon.
chucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:35 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Even easier scroll down find proper thread with same question asked 4655433 times and delete this one.
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:00 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitsum View Post
Even easier scroll down find proper thread with same question asked 4655433 times and delete this one.
Thanks Chucko!

Gitsum, I looked but couldn't seem to find anything. Could you point me in the right direction? Do you have a link?
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitsum View Post
Even easier scroll down find proper thread with same question asked 4655433 times and delete this one.
+1

Or use the search function .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:22 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: All 48 states...
Posts: 2,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hint it starts with Tekin
Gitsum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 05:56 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitsum View Post
Hint it starts with Tekin
Nice attitude mate. You're one coooooool mofo, arent' ya?
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:47 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
BashemSmashem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,624
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Make sure the wires on the motor match up with the ESC , there are A,B,C solder tabs on the motor and ESC and they must match (A to A , B to B ect) . If these dont match up then the motor wont run correctly .

If you need more help there is a Tekin support thread in this section of the forum ......
__________________
Have you been ripped off by Brushless Hobbies ? If so go to BBB.org and file a complaint !
BashemSmashem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:04 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BashemSmashem View Post
Make sure the wires on the motor match up with the ESC , there are A,B,C solder tabs on the motor and ESC and they must match (A to A , B to B ect) . If these dont match up then the motor wont run correctly .

If you need more help there is a Tekin support thread in this section of the forum ......
Hey mate. Cheers for the response. Yeah... the soldering is good (I think). Wires in order. When I plug in the sensor cable and spin the wheels, apparently the LED's are supposed to light up, but that doesn't happen either. I wonder if the problem lies with the motor sensors.

I'll check that support thread.
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:40 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Belleville, MI
Posts: 4,517
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nv529
Default

you might have a bad sensor cable..
__________________
Nick Vasquez
Tekin | Reilly Paint | Dirt Burner Racing | RC Clubhouse| Washtenaw RC Raceway | TARCAR | The Track
nv529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:53 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nv529 View Post
you might have a bad sensor cable..
Right! Just went a got a new sensor cable, and it still doesn't work. So I guess it's not the cable. Shiiiiet!
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:28 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

My Tekin did this too. It a problem with the ESC according to Tekin when I talked to them. It maybe the sensor in the motor but it wouldn't cut the ESCoff like that it would just switch to Dual Mode.
__________________
HPI-Racing|Team Traxxas|Team Tekin|Spektrum|Jr Racing|Jconcepts|Thunder Power|SPC-Racing
Blitz ESE|Traxxas SRT|Traxxas TCP|Rs Pro 7.5t|DX3C|Z9100s|TP-610C|
World Class Champion's runs World Class Equipment...Go Tekin or go home!
rc10t3b4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:34 AM   #13
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc10t3b4 View Post
My Tekin did this too. It a problem with the ESC according to Tekin when I talked to them. It maybe the sensor in the motor but it wouldn't cut the ESCoff like that it would just switch to Dual Mode.
I was afraid of this. How was Tekin to deal with? Did they replace the ESC? I have ordered a Redline to try it on Wednesday. If that doesn't work, I'll know it's the ESC for sure.
bowza1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 05:51 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

If you have the receipt and date is less then 120 days ago they will exchange it under warranty . If not , you can exchange it for a new one at a discounted price , think the RS is $78 .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:20 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

I would see if you could "borrow" a spare motor that is known to be good, no need ot even put a pinion on it and run it on the track, just test to see if you have the same issue.

It could be any number of things and if you ruled out the cable you still need to figure out if you should address the sensor in the motor or an issue with the ESC.
lbenton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Tekin Vegas 2.0 Setup and Support Randy_Pike Electric Off-Road 1713 12-06-2011 05:31 PM
Tekin Rs/Rs pro V200 offroad setups only JdogL Electric Off-Road 272 02-04-2010 11:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:50 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net