Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
So i got a good deal on a XXX-SCT >

So i got a good deal on a XXX-SCT

So i got a good deal on a XXX-SCT

Old 09-12-2012, 06:19 AM
Tech Rookie

Default So i got a good deal on a XXX-SCT

I know there is a thread on this truck, but you cant get the feedback you need over 100 pages. Guy wanted 275 for the truck, went out to show me the truck and busted a shock cap, come apart. Ended up coming down to 200 and he had 475 in it.

Anyway, what kind of hop ups and such should i look for, i am brand new to this. What things should i do to the truck between races, maintence wise after the race? would the losi tuning kit be useful? should i convert the diff to a CR ball diff? I bought a losi 17-in-1 tool kit to start with and took a few of my dads tools, anything i should look into getting?

Again, sorry for all this, need some good info from you experienced players. Thanks!

-Samples
Old 09-12-2012, 06:40 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)

$200? What all did you get for $200? It isn't box stock is it?

If you're going to race you want the TLR kit which includes the ball diff. You want the graphite shock towers and front kick plate/bulkhead. I would advise picking up the alloy 3* rear pivot from wither STRC or Losi.

Did you get a bunch of wheels and tires? If not and if it hasn't already been converted consider the hex conversion (ProLine) for the front and the rear alloy hexes that give the proper offset when using the SCTE wheels.

All this stuff is covered in the XXX-SCT thread.

Also you could think about switching to the XXX-SCB chassis...I just made the switch myself.
Old 09-12-2012, 06:55 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)

My local hobby shop has it new in a box for $119 as a ARR roller and $199 as a RTR minus the battery...